Tisdale Picked for Hall Induction

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

April 2, 2009

NORMAN, Okla. - Wayman Tisdale, Oklahoma's all-time leading scorer, has been selected for induction into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Tisdale, a three-year first-team All-American and Big Eight Player of the Year, will be inducted Nov. 22 at the College Basketball Experience in the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo.  He will be one of eight inductees in the 2009 class. 

Three other players will join him -- Indiana State's Larry Bird, Michigan State's Earvin "Magic" Johnson and Kentucky State's Travis "Machine Gun" Grant.

Two coaches will join the players as November inductees.  They are Jud Heathcote (Michigan State) and Gene Bartow (Memphis State and UAB).  Bill Wall, former executive director of USA Basketball, and Walter Byers, longtime executive director of the NCAA, will also be inducted as contributors to the game.

"I'm very happy for Wayman and the announcement of his induction into the college basketball hall of fame," said current OU head coach Jeff Capel Thursday evening.  "Wayman had one of the best careers in the history of college basketball.  This is a well-deserved honor."

Tisdale was a 6-9 forward from Tulsa who averaged 25.6 points and 10.1 rebounds over his three-year career (1982-83 through 1984-85) under former head coach Billy Tubbs.  He finished his collegiate playing days as the Big Eight's all-time leading scorer (2,661 points) and became the 10th player in NCAA history to finish his career with at least 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds (1,048).

Tisdale's 61 points against Texas-San Antonio during his sophomore season still stand as a school record.

Despite playing only three seasons, he ranks first in OU history in points, points per game, field goals, free throw makes and attempts, and rebounds.  He ranks second in career field goal percentage and third in rebounds per game.

Tisdale was selected No. 2 overall in the 1985 NBA draft by the Indiana Pacers.