Sooners Host 20th Scholar-Athlete Breakfast

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN - Celebrating academic achievement among Oklahoma student-athletes at the Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar-Athlete Breakfast has happened every year for the last two decades. The tradition of honoring the academic milestones and accomplishments continues to be just as meaningful year after year.

Hundreds of OU student-athletes, coaches and athletics department staff members continued the tradition early Tuesday morning at Oklahoma Memorial Union when they gathered for the 20th annual event, as more than 40 individuals were honored for outstanding academic achievement and community service excellence.

"The scholar-athlete breakfast is one of the highlights of the year as we recognize the academic achievements by our student-athletes," said OU Vice President and Director of Athletics Joe Castiglione. "Our coaches, staff and university community are incredibly proud of our student-athletes and their tremendous work ethic both in the classroom and in their athletic endeavors. They never cease to amaze us with the way they continue to excel as well as the importance they place on serving others."

OU student-athletes posted a 3.09 cumulative GPA for the fall 2017 semester, tying the 3.09 GPA from the spring 2017 semester as the best in recorded school history. The achievement marked a record 12th consecutive semester of posting at least a 3.0 figure.

OU's streak of student-athletes posting a GPA of at least 3.0 started in spring 2012. Averages have ranged from 3.01 to 3.09.

Thirteen of OU's 19 athletics teams, including every women's team, held a 3.0 cumulative GPA following the fall semester.

In addition to these accomplishments, OU student-athletes have captured 176 Academic All-Big 12 honors and 36 Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team awards over the past calendar year. A total of 325 Sooners earned a spot on the fall 2017 Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll, which requires at least a 3.0 GPA. Of the 325, 73 student-athletes recorded a perfect 4.0 GPA.

Away from the classroom, OU student-athletes have devoted some 5,400 hours to community service over the past year, making contact with hundreds of people through mentoring, speaking arrangements and other special events.


Athletics Director’s Leadership Award

Given to student-athletes who demonstrate extraordinary leadership in representing the University of Oklahoma and their teams. The award recognizes the special qualities of being a leader, including mental toughness, ability to work with others, giving respect and gaining the respect of others, integrity and accountability. These qualities are tantamount to one's success in athletics and life.

Kelsey Arnold (Softball)
Jake Irvin (Baseball)
Yul Moldauer (Men’s Gymnastics)
Maggie Nichols (Women’s Gymnastics)

Conference Medal Award

Each member institution may award a Conference Medal Award annually to a male and female student-athlete who has completed his/her athletic eligibility and who has made the most outstanding record in athletics and scholarship. (The student must have a 3.00 minimum GPA.) No student shall be eligible for this award who has not had at least two years of intercollegiate competition at the University of Oklahoma.

Hunter Justus (Men’s Gymnastics)
Paige Parker (Softball)

Dan Gibbens Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award

This award is given to student-athletes who have attained the highest level of scholarly and athletic success in the prior calendar year. Scholarship is to be measured by appropriate indices and academic attainment, including GPA. Athletics success is to be measured by overall athletics performance. Students must attain an OU minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA to be eligible for this award.

Emily Coffman (Rowing)
Brenna Dowell (Women’s Gymnastics)
Jake Irvin (Baseball)
Connor McGinnis (Football)
Calvin Miller (Men’s Track and Field)
Lily Miyazaki (Women’s Tennis)
Gabbi Ortiz (Women’s Basketball)
Brian Schibler (Men’s Gymnastics)
Belle Wallace (Women’s Track and Field)
Paige Welch (Soccer)
Lea Wodach (Softball)

Athletics Council Achievement Award

This award honors graduating student-athletes who have overcome great personal, academic, and/or emotional odds to achieve academic success while participating in intercollegiate athletics. These young men or women have persevered and made significant personal strides toward meeting their individual goals. The common thread for all of those to be considered for this award is a motivation/drive to succeed and a work ethic that overcomes difficult situations.

Eric Alldritt (Men’s Track and Field)
Samantha Craus (Women’s Gymnastics)
Will Johnson (Football)
Maddie Manning (Women’s Basketball)
Rylee Reinertson (Men’s Golf)
Malene Stripp (Women’s Tennis)
Valerie Tanguay (Women’s Golf)

Athletics Council Service Award

Student-athletes receiving this award have made important contributions to the community through their commitment to service.

Jake Maloley (Men’s Gymnastics)
Maddie Manning (Women’s Basketball)
Liam Meirow (Men’s Track and Field)
Nicole Mendes (Softball)
Hayley Redwine (Women’s Track and Field)

Jay Myers Outstanding Freshman Award

Given to freshman student-athletes who best combine excellence in scholarship with potential excellence in their chosen field of athletics endeavor. The student must have a 3.00 minimum GPA.

Jake Boyd (Wrestling)
Lynnsie Elam (Softball)
Jeremiah Hall (Football)
Tyler Hardman (Baseball)
Brady Manek (Men’s Basketball)
Kaitlin Milligan (Women’s Golf)
Sarah Sanders (Volleyball)
Evy Schoepfer (Women’s Gymnastics)

OU Prentice Gautt Award

Established by the Oklahoma House of Representatives and awarded annually by OU’s Black Student Association, this award honors a male and female student-athlete who demonstrate the dignity, integrity and strength of character reminiscent of Oklahoma’s first African-American scholarship athlete.

Jordan Bryant Smallwood (Football)
Vionise Pierre-Louis (Women’s Basketball)

Big 12 Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award

Initiated in 2011, the Gerald Lage Award is the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor. It is named for Dr. Gerald Lage, who was the Faculty Athletics Representative at Oklahoma State University from 1983-2007. To be eligible for this award, students must have earned 100 hours with a 3.80 GPA, be a letterwinner and be in residence at their institution for at least one academic year. Students may only be recognized one time.

Andrea Batchev (Rowing)
Stefani Catour (Women’s Gymnastics)
Kaylee Dao (Soccer)
Louise Kuehster (Rowing)
Madeleine Lange (Rowing)
Nicole Lehrmann (Women’s Gymnastics)
Lizzie Luallin (Soccer)
Lily Miyazaki (Women’s Tennis)
Gabbi Ortiz (Women’s Basketball)
Paige Parker (Softball)
Griffin Pierce (Men’s Golf)
Taylor Spencer (Rowing)
Belle Wallace (Women’s Track and Field)
Lea Wodach (Softball)

Most Inspiring Faculty

Awarded to faculty members who have motivated and inspired our student-athletes. These faculty members are nominated by the student-athletes and selected by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

Larry Arthur (Management Information Systems)
Dr. Ana Bolino (Management and International Business)
Jess Eberle (Biology and Human Anatomy)

Academic and Student Life Award for Coaches

Presented to a coach for exemplary encouragement of the personal development and academic achievement of student-athletes through principles of life skills.

Leeanne Crain (Rowing)

CHAMPS/Life Skills Team Competition Award

The team receiving this award has earned the most Life Skills Competition points by attendance at life skills events, athletics competitions, community service hours, campus cultural events and Bridge Builder and SAAC events, as well as earning high individual GPAs.

Women’s Golf