Young Named to Bob Cousy Award Watch List

Ben Coldagelli
By Ben Coldagelli
Director of Communications

NORMAN – Oklahoma freshman Trae Young has been selected as one of 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Named after Hall of Fame point guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Young is one of only three freshmen featured on the watch list, joined by Trevon Duval (Duke) and Collin Sexton (Alabama). 

Young came to OU after averaging 42.6 points, 4.1 assists and 5.8 rebounds during his senior year at Norman North High School. A five-star recruit according to 247Sports, ESPN, Rivals and Scout, Young is the fourth McDonald’s All-American from the state of Oklahoma to play for OU, joining Sooner legends Blake Griffin, Wayman Tisdale and Jeff Webster.

The Norman native was selected as the Gatorade Player of the Year in Oklahoma for back-to-back seasons in 2016 and 2017. Internationally, Young won gold at the 2016 FIBA Americas U18 Championship as part of the United States U18 National Team. 

Last week, Young was voted a Preseason All-Big 12 Team honorable mention alongside teammate Kameron McGusty.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 by mid-February. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2018 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 6, 2018. 

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning a national title in 1947, when he defeated a Bruce Drake-coached Oklahoma team in the NCAA Championship at Madison Square Garden. Cousy was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. 

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A&M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004). 

More information on the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award is available at

2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates 

Collin Sexton, Alabama
Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Jalen Adams, Connecticut
Trevon Duval, Duke
Jordan Bohannon, Iowa
Devonte’ Graham, Kansas
Quentin Snider, Louisville
Nate Mason, Minnesota
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Bryant McIntosh, Northwestern
Matt Farrell, Notre Dame
Trae Young, Oklahoma
Kyron Cartwright, Providence
Shake Milton, SMU
Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure
Jordan McLaughlin, USC
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest
Jevon Carter, West Virginia
Landry Shamet, Wichita State   

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*