McGusty and Young Earn Preseason Big 12 Honors

Ben Coldagelli
By Ben Coldagelli
Director of Communications

NORMAN – Oklahoma guards Kameron McGusty and Trae Young were voted by the Big 12 Conference’s head coaches as Preseason All-Big 12 Team honorable mentions, the conference announced Thursday.

The Sooners were one of two Big 12 teams with two guards on the conference’s preseason honors list, which features five All-Big 12 selections and nine honorable mentions. Oklahoma was also one of only two schools to boast multiple underclassmen on the list.

A sophomore from Katy, Texas, McGusty boasts the highest 2016-17 scoring average (10.9 points) among returning Sooners. The 6-5 guard upped his production to 14.4 points per game in Big 12 play last season – the fifth-most among all returning Big 12 players. McGusty’s success in conference play was highlighted by 15 consecutive games of double-digit scoring.

Following his rookie campaign, McGusty was named an All-Big 12 honorable mention and member of the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team. He is the first OU freshman to earn All-Big 12 honors and All-Newcomer status since Tommy Mason-Griffin in 2009-10.

Entering his freshman season in his hometown of Norman, Young came to OU after averaging 42.6 points, 4.1 assists and 5.8 rebounds during his senior year at Norman North High School. A five-star recruit according to 247Sports, ESPN, Rivals and Scout, Young is one of only two freshmen in the conference to earn Preseason All-Big 12 honors, joining Mohamed Bamba of Texas.

A starting point guard in the 2017 McDonald’s All-American Game, Young is the fourth McDonald’s All-American from the state of Oklahoma to play for OU, joining Sooner legends Blake Griffin, Wayman Tisdale and Jeff Webster.

In addition to his many national honors, Young was selected as the Gatorade Player of the Year in Oklahoma for back-to-back seasons in 2016 and 2017. The freshman also boasts international success, winning gold at the 2016 FIBA Americas U18 Championship as part of the United States U18 National Team.

McGusty and Young are joined on the honorable mention list by Manu Lecomte (Baylor), Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. (Baylor), Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk (Kansas), Malik Newman (Kansas), Kenrich Williams (TCU), Mohamed Bamba (Texas) and Keenan Evans (Texas Tech). The Preseason All-Big 12 Team features Devonte' Graham (Kansas), Jeffrey Carroll (Oklahoma State), Vladimir Brodziansky (TCU), Zach Smith (Texas Tech) and Jevon Carter (West Virginia).