No. 20 OU Ready for Big 12 Rowing Championship

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma rowing team begins postseason competition Sunday at the 2019 Big 12 Rowing Championship in Oak Ridge, Tenn. The regatta will be held on Melton Hill Lake.

OU, ranked 20th in the latest CRCA/US Rowing poll, will be joined at the conference championship by No. 4 Texas, Kansas, Kansas State, and West Virginia, along with affiliate members Alabama (receiving votes) and Tennessee. 

All seven teams will race in the first varsity eight, second varsity eight, third varsity eight, first varsity four and second varsity four competition. OU along with Alabama, Kansas and Texas will participate in the third varsity four exhibition. The racing format for the six events will be a finals-only event with all racing set to take place on Sunday. The regatta begins Sunday morning at 9 a.m. CT with the 3V4 exhibition and concludes with the 1V8 final at 10:15 a.m.

OU claimed the top seed in the 1V4 race, second-place seed in the 2V8 and the three spot in the 1V8, 2V4 and 3V4 racing. The Sooners’ third varsity eight will race as the four seed.

A full heat sheet for Sunday can be found here. Each race counts toward the Big 12 team title with the Big 12 champion receiving the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Rowing Championship, May 31-June 2 in Indianapolis, Ind.

OU is looking for its third Big 12 Championship and first since 2014. 

Live results can be found here and a live stream will be available on free to the public. 

For more information on Oklahoma Rowing, follow the Sooners on Twitter and Instagram (@OU_Rowing).


Sunday, May 19 (Finals)

9:00 a.m. – 3V4 Exhibition 

9:15 a.m. – 3V8 Final

9:30 a.m. – 2V4 Final

9:45 a.m. – 1V4 Final

10:00 a.m. – 2V8 Final

10:15 a.m. – 1V8 Final

11:00 a.m. – Awards Ceremony


1st Varsity 8+

C: Katie Denney

S: Maria Pergouli

7: Breah McKay 

6: Annika Weber 

5: Nicole Molina

4: Madeleine Lange

3: Abby Lange

2: Nina Chism

B: Kalie Heffernan

2nd Varsity 8+

C: Cassidy Mulligan 

S; Amy Pasque

7: Emily Taylor 

6: Frauke Berger

5: Erin Steele 

4: Sophie Salt 

3: Rachel Della Valle

2: Kristen Allman

B: Louise Kuehster 

1st Varsity 4+

C: Sidney Pino

S; Rachel Williams

3: Ella Poljak 

2: Annika Smith

B: Maia Cruse 

2nd Varsity 4+

C: Sara Fazal 

S: Amber Templin 

3: Jessica Robinson

2: Serafina King 

B: Andreja Kekic

3rd Varsity 8+ 

C: Hannah Hassien 

S: Evelina Butrimaviciute 

7: Leah Pearman 

6: Brooke Baldwin

5: Louisa McNaughton 

4: Abigail Gordon

3: Fallon Dean 

2: Melissa Easley 

B: Julie Owen 

3rd Varsity 4+ 

C: Taylor Johnson

4: Elizabeth Soldner 

3: Ronni Gilliard 

2: Te’a Elliott-Fox 

B: Sydney Stone