Sooners Selected as No. 5 Seed

Ben Coldagelli
By Ben Coldagelli
Director of Communications

NORMAN – For the eighth time in the past nine seasons, Oklahoma will compete in the NCAA Women's Golf Championships. The Sooners were selected as an at-large bid and will open the postseason as a No. 5 seed on their home course in Norman.

One of four NCAA Regional hosts, Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club will host the 18-team Norman Regional on May 6-8. The top six schools in the 54-hole tournament will advance to the finals, played May 17-22 at The Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark. The top three top-finishing individuals on a non-advancing team from each region will also advance to Fayetteville.

"We're exciting to be moving into the postseason," said OU head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell. "Making it to regionals is a big deal and is even more special that we have the opportunity to host it in Norman this year. We are focused on the process of getting better each day and are ready for the opportunity to compete again."

The Sooners will be joined in Norman by Texas, Wake Forest, Florida, Arizona State, TCU, Pepperdine, Purdue, Ole Miss, Texas Tech, Mississippi State, Virginia Tech, North Carolina State, Texas A&M, UTSA, UNCW, Sam Houston State and Farleigh Dickinson.

Six additional golfers were selected to compete in the field as individuals: Michaela Fletcher (Memphis), Lauren Cox (North Texas), Brigitte Dunne (SMU), Lianna Bailey (Oklahoma State), Han-Hsuan Yu (Oklahoma State) and Lorena Tseng (Tulsa).

Oklahoma enters the Norman Regional coming off a third place finish at the Big 12 Championship, its fifth top-three showing of the season. The Sooners are ranked No. 18 in the Women's Golf Coaches Association Coaches Poll and No. 21 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings.

The Sooners aim to qualify for the finals of the NCAA Championships for the fifth time since 2012.

Admission to the Norman Regional is free.