Digital Team
By Digital Team
Oklahoma Athletics
MAY 20, 2013

National Award Winners

OU Football History & Tradition
Updated January 15, 2017

Some of the greatest players in college football history have worn the Crimson and Cream. Oklahoma's impressive collection of hardware includes 74 national award winners, most recently Dede Westbrook (Biletnikoff) and Baker Mayfield (Burlsworth) in 2016.

Heisman Trophy

The Heisman Trophy, named after former college football coach John W. Heisman, is awarded annually to the most outstanding player in college football.

2008 - Sam Bradford (QB)
2003 - Jason White (QB)
1978 - Billy Sims (RB)
1969 - Steve Owens (RB)
1952 - Billy Vessels (RB)

Maxwell Award

The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the the nation's top college football player as voted on by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, NCAA head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club.

2004 - Jason White (QB)
1956 - Tommy McDonald (RB)

Walter Camp Trophy

The Walter Camp Trophy is awarded to the outstanding player of the year who has exemplified the qualities of self-discipline, unselfish team play, desire to excel, mature judgement and respect for leadership.

2000 - Josh Heupel (QB)
1978 - Billy Sims (RB)
1969 - Steve Owens (RB)
1956 - Jerry Tubbs (C)

Nagurski Trophy

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been awarded annually since 1993 to the best defensive player in college football and is presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

2003 - Derrick Strait (DB)
2001 - Roy Williams (DB)

Bednarik Award

The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented annually to the defensive collegiate football player considered by the Maxwell Football Club to be the best in the United States.

2003 - Teddy Lehman (LB)

Davey O'Brien Award

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

2008 - Sam Bradford (QB)
2004 - Jason White (QB)
2003 - Jason White (QB)
1978 - Billy Sims (RB)

Biletnikoff Award

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the season’s outstanding college football receiver regardless of position

2016 - Dede Westbrook (WR)



Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy is awarded to the best interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America. It is named after John H. Outland, one of only a few players in history ever to be named All-America at two positions.

2004 - Jammal Brown (OL)
1978 - Greg Roberts (OL)
1975 - Lee Roy Selmon (DL)
1953 - J.D. Roberts (G)
1951 - Jim Weatherall (T)

Lombardi Award

The Rotary Lombardi Award is awarded annually to the best college football lineman or linebacker. The award was instituted in 1970 shortly after the death of Vince Lombardi.

2003 - Tommie Harris (DL)
1985 - Tony Casillas (DL)
1975 - Lee Roy Selmon (DL)

Butkus Award

The Butkus Award, instituted in 1985, has been given annually to the top linebacker in college football and is regarded as one of the elite individual honors in the game.

2003 - Teddy Lehman (LB)
2001 - Rocky Calmus (LB)
1986 - Brian Bosworth (LB)
1985 - Brian Bosworth (LB)

Thorpe Award

The Jim Thorpe Award, named in memory of multi-sport legend Jim Thorpe, is awareded annually to the nation's top defensive back. It is voted on by the Jim Thorpe Association, an organization based in Oklahoma City.

2003 - Derrick Strait (DB)
2001 - Roy Williams (DB)
1987 - Rickey Dixon (DB)

Unitas Award

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award is given annually to the nation's outstanding senior quarterback.

2004 - Jason White (QB)

Campbell Trophy

Considered the "Academic Heisman", the William V. Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the absolute best in the country for his academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership.

2015 - Ty Darlington (C)

Wuerffel Trophy

The Wuerffel Trophy, named after Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, is given annually to the player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

2015 - Ty Darlington (C)
2013 - Gabe Ikard (C)

In addition to the awards and trophies listed above, the following players were recognized by various national organizations for player of the year and other specialty awards.

Associated Press Player of the Year
2008 - Sam Bradford (QB)
2003 - Jason White (QB)
2000 - Josh Heupel (QB)

The Sporting News Player of the Year
2015 - Baker Mayfield (QB)
2008 - Sam Bradford (QB)
2003 - Jason White (QB)
2000 - Josh Heupel (QB)
1956 - Tommy McDonald (WR)

Bobby Bowden Award
2015 - Ty Darlington (C)
2006 - Carl Pendleton (DL)

Burlsworth Trophy
2016 - Baker Mayfield (QB)
2015 - Baker Mayfield (QB)

CBS Player of the Year
2000 - Josh Heupel (QB)

Chevrolet ABC Offensive Player of the Year
1971 - Jack Mildren (QB)

Chevrolet ABC Defensive Player of the Year
2002 - Teddy Lehman (LB)
1973 - Lucious Selmon (NG)

Helms & Citizens Foundation Player of the Year
1978 - Billy Sims (RB)
1969 - Steve Owens (RB)
1954 - Kurt Burris (C/LB)

Chic Harley Player of the Year
2008 - Sam Bradford (QB)

Football News Freshman of the Year
1982 - Marcus Dupree (RB)

Mosi Tatupu Special Teams Player of the Year
2000 - J.T. Thatcher (DB)

NCAA Top Six Award
1988 - Anthony Phillips (OL)
1987 - Keith Jackson (TE)

New York Athletic Club Defensive Back of the Year
1977 - Zac Henderson (S)

Outstanding Lineman of the Year
1985 - Tony Casillas (NG)
1967 - Granville Liggins (NG)
1958 - Bob Harrison (C)
1956 - Jerry Tubbs (C)
1954 - Max Boydston (E)
1954 - Kurt Burris (C)
1953 - J.D. Roberts (G)

Sammy Baugh Award
2010 - Landry Jones (QB)
2008 - Sam Bradford (QB)

Washington D.C. Player of the Year
1974 - Joe Washington (RB)
1972 - Greg Pruitt (RB)

OU Football History & Tradition




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications, Tyler Media, LLC and Griffin Television.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.
  • David Stanley Junior Captain
    Red River Showdown
    Delta Dental
    Patriot Ford