Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 20, 2013

Hall of Famers

OU Football History & Tradition

Great players and coaches built the Oklahoma football tradition. OU has placed 22 players and five former coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame. No Big 12 school has more.

 College Football Hall of Fame
 Year Inducted
 Adrian Peterson RB 2004-06 2017
 Brian Bosworth LB 1984-86 2015
 Rod Shoate LB 1972-74 2013
 Clendon Thomas RB 1955-1957 2011
 Tom Brahaney C 1970-1972 2007
 Joe Washington RB 1972-1975 2005
 Tony Casillas MG 1982-1985 2004
 Keith Jackson TE 1984-1987 2001
 Kurt Burris C 1951-1954 2000
 Greg Pruitt HB 1970-1972 1999
 Jerry Tubbs C 1954-1956 1996
 Billy Sims HB 1975-1979 1995
 J.D. Roberts G 1951-1953 1993
 Jim Weatherall T 1948-1951 1992
 Steve Owens HB 1967-1969 1991
 Lee Roy Selmon DT 1972-1975 1988
 Waddy Young E 1936-1938 1986
 Tommy McDonald HB 1954-1956 1985
 Jim Owens E 1946-1949 1982
 Billy Vessels HB 1950-1952 1974
 Forest Geyer FB 1913-1915 1973
 Claude Reeds FB 1910-1913 1961

 College Football Hall of Fame
 Year Inducted
 Barry Switzer 1973-1988 2001
 Jim Tatum 1946 1984
 Bud Wilkinson 1947-1963 1969
 Lawrence "Biff" Jones 1935-1936 1954
 Bennie Owen 1905-1926 1951

Pro Football Hall of Fame

Two players, Tommy McDonald and Lee Roy Selmon, went on to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Tommy McDonald

Wide receiver Tommy McDonald was a third-round draft pick of the Philadelphia Eagles in 1957. An All-America choice at Oklahoma, he won the Maxwell Award in 1956 as college football's player of the year. During his three years of varsity play at Oklahoma, the Sooners never lost a game.
A six-time Pro Bowl selection (1959-1963 and 1966), McDonald played seven seasons with the Eagles (1957-1963), one with the Dallas Cowboys (1964), two with the Los Angeles Rams (1965-1966), and one each with the Atlanta Falcons (1967) and the Cleveland Browns (1968).
Although he was just 5-9 and 176 pounds, McDonald was extremely durable and missed only three games in his first 11 seasons. He had elusive speed and used his running skills brilliantly after making his catches, finishing his career with an average of 17 yards per catch and 84 touchdowns.
A sure-handed receiver, McDonald had few peers when it came to putting the ball in the end zone. In the years 1958-62, he had 56 touchdown receptions in 63 games, including a 35-yard touchdown reception from quarterback Norm Van Brocklin in the 1960 NFL Championship Game in which the Eagles defeated the Green Bay Packers 17-13.
His career ratio of touchdowns-to-receptions is an impressive 1 in 5.9. He also caught at least one pass in 93 consecutive games. Used primarily as a kickoff and punt-return specialist during his rookie season, McDonald ranked sixth all-time in receptions (495), fourth in yards receiving (8,410) and second in touchdown catches (84) when he retired following the 1968 season.
McDonald, who was born in Roy, New Mexico, had an outstanding season in 1961. Not only did he lead the NFL in reception yardage (1,144) and in touchdowns (13), but in a game against the New York Giants he caught seven passes for 237 yards and two touchdowns, which is still an Eagles' single-game best.
Lee Roy Selmon
Lee Roy Selmon, a 6-3, 256-pound consensus All-America in 1975 at the University of Oklahoma, was the first-ever draft pick of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers franchise in 1976. The winner of both the Lombardi and Outland trophies as the outstanding college lineman in 1975, the defensive right end immediately established himself at as the leader of the Buccaneers defensive unit that would eventually produce two NFC Central Division championships in the team's first six seasons.
Selmon, who was born in Eufaula, Oklahoma, joined his brother Dewey on the first Tampa Bay team. Dewey, a year older, was a second-round draft pick. A defensive tackle/linebacker, he played in Tampa Bay until 1980.
Although he missed six games due to injuries as a rookie, he was named the Bucs' Rookie of the Year and the team's Most Valuable Player. He battled injuries during two of his first three seasons, but starting in 1978 he was named first- or second-team All-Pro five times. He also was also All-NFC choice five times, and was named to six straight Pro Bowls from 1980 to 1985. With four sacks, he was co-Player of the Game in the 1982 Pro Bowl.
Four times the NFL Players Association named Lee Roy the NFC Defensive Lineman of the Year and he was a unanimous choice as NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1979. Selmon was a major factor in the Bucs' first winning season, which was concluded with a 9-0 loss to the Los Angeles Rams in the 1979 NFC Championship Game. Lee Roy had 11 sacks and a career-best 117 tackles that year. He had three sacks in one game four times. A back injury, which forced him to miss the entire 1985 season, brought a premature end to his outstanding career.
Text courtesy Pro Football Hall of Fame

Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame

Closer to home, the Sooners have placed 29 former players and three coaches in the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame administered by the Jim Thorpe Association.

 Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame
 Year Inducted
 Bill Krisher OL, DL 1954-1957 2017
 Jason White QB 2001-2004 2017
 Brian Bosworth LB 1984-1986 2016
 Leon Heath FB 1946-1949 2016
 Kurt Burris C, LB 1951-1954 2015
 Steve Zabel TE, DE, P 1965-1969 2015
 J.C. Watts QB 1977-1980 2014
 Jimmy Harris QB 1954-1956 2013
 Lucious Selmon DT 1971-1973 2011
 Rick Bryan DT 1980-1983 2009
 Tony Casillas DT 1982-1985 2008
 Keith Jackson TE 1984-1987 2006
 Eddie Crowder HB 1950-1952 2003
 Jack Jacobs QB 1939-1941 2002
 Jim Weatherall T 1948-1951 2001
 Paul Young C 1930-1931 2001
 Prentice Gautt HB 1957-1959 2000
 Jerry Tubbs C 1954-1956 1999
 Jack Mildren QB 1969-1971 1998
 Greg Pruitt HB 1970-1972 1997
 J.D. Roberts G 1951-1953 1997
 Clendon Thomas B 1955-1957 1995
 Billy Sims HB 1975-1979 1994
 Joe Washington HB 1972-1975 1993
 Darrell Royal QB 1946-1949 1992
 Lee Roy Selmon DT 1972-1975 1992
 Tommy McDonald B 1954-1956 1991
 Steve Owens HB 1967-1969 1991
 Billy Vessels B 1950-1952 1989

 Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame
 Year Inducted
 Bennie Owen 1905-1926 2001
 Barry Switzer 1973-1988 1990
 Bud Wilkinson 1947-1963 1986
OU Football Tradition




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.