OU Among Nationís Top Athletics Programs

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
JUNE 10, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. – The University of Oklahoma currently ranks 14th in the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup for the 2013-14 academic year with a score of 844.75 points. The Sooners have placed in the top 15 each of the past four years. Final standings will be released after the conclusion of the College World Series.

The Directors' Cup is presented annually by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), Learfield Sports and USA Today to the best overall collegiate athletics programs in the country.

Oklahoma is one of four Big 12 Conference schools represented among the top 30 squads, joining No. 13 Texas (854.00), No. 22 Oklahoma State (740.75) and No. 30 Baylor (578.50).

The Sooners accumulated 391.75 points in the spring, the seventh-highest spring total in the country and the highest mark of any Big 12 institution. Those numbers were bolstered by a men’s tennis program led by head coach John Roddick that was the NCAA runner-up and Patty Gasso’s softball squad that reached the Women’s College World Series for the fourth consecutive year.

Other spring programs that contributed points for Oklahoma included women’s golf, which registered a program-best fourth-place NCAA finish. Men’s golf finished 16th in the nation after earning a fourth straight NCAA berth. Women’s rowing came in at No. 19 in the country, marking the second straight top 20 finish for that squad. Women’s tennis also garnered points for the Sooners after qualifying for the NCAA tournament.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.