Dr. Gerald Lage Award Winners Announced

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 04, 2014

IRVING, Texas — Sixty-four Big 12 student-athletes are recipients of the fourth annual Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award, the Conference’s highest academic honor.

Five Oklahoma student-athletes were named to the prestigious award listing: Lara Albright (women's gymnastics), Marilyn Kozlowski (rowing), Drew Krittenbrink (baseball), Emmie Preskitt (rowing) and Carrie Whigham (soccer).

The award is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at OSU, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87), and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award recipients will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.

2014 Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award Recipients
Name Class Sport Major
Lara Albright SR Gymnastics Marketing
Marilyn Kozlowski SR Rowing Health & Exercise Science
Drew Krittenbrink SR Baseball Finance
Emmie Preskitt JR Rowing Psychology
Carrie Whigham SR Soccer Nursing





Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.