Football Coaching Staff
Jay Boulware
Special Teams Coordinator, Running Backs and Fullbacks
Coach Info:
Position: Special Teams Coordinator, Running Backs and Fullbacks
Hometown: Oklahoma City, Okla.
Alma Mater: Texas
Graduating Year: 1996
Experience: 4 Years

Starting second year coaching running backs and fullbacks in 2016 and fourth as special teams coordinator. OU’s special teams own five TDs, a safety and two returned two-point PATs under his direction.

Oversaw a 2015 running back unit that ranked 22nd nationally with 222.1 yards per game. Sophomore Samaje Perine earned All-Big 12 First Team honors (1,349 rushing yards and Big 12-high 16 TDs), while redshirt freshman Joe Mixon added 753 rushing yards and seven TDs.

His 2015 punt unit led nation by allowing just 1.09 yards per return (12 yards on 11 returns). Austin Seibert was a Ray Guy Award semifinalist.

Served as tight ends coach for OU in 2013-14, helping former quarterback Blake Bell become a fourth-round draft pick as a tight end, a position he had never played prior to 2014. Fullbacks Trey Millard and Aaron Ripkowski were eventual NFL Draft picks.

Mentored RB Alex Ross, who finished third in the nation on kickoff return yards (31.2 average) in 2014 and tied for second among FBS players with two kickoff return touchdowns.

Tutored kickoff specialist Nick Hodgson, who ranked second in nation in 2014 in both touchbacks (58) and touchback percentage (67.4).

K Michael Hunnicutt concluded his career under Boulware as the all-time leading scorer in OU history (450 points), a figure that ranked sixth in FBS annals. Hunnicutt made 75 career FGs for a Big 12 record. He set an OU single-season record with 24 made field goals, the second-best total among FBS kickers in 2013.

The Sooners registered three special teams TDs in 2013, including one on a fake field goal in a 33-24 win at Oklahoma State (12/7/13).

WR Jalen Saunders ranked ninth in the FBS with a 15.4-yard punt return average in 2013. OU led the Big 12 and was eighth in the FBS with a 14.17 PR average, thanks to two punt return TDs in 2013.

At Auburn, was part of Gene Chizik’s staff that inherited a team coming off a 5-7 record in 2008. Two seasons later, the Tigers posted a 14-0 record and a win over Oregon in the BCS Championship Game.

TE Philip Lutzenkirchen was a second-team All-SEC pick in 2011. His 14 career TD catches set an Auburn tight end record.

The Auburn punt coverage unit ranked second in the nation in 2012, permitting four punt return yards on 70 punts, while his kickoff coverage squad was third in the country (16.6 yards per return).

Auburn led the SEC in kickoff return yards (1,264), kick return TDs (2), kickoff coverage (546 yards) and fewest punts returned (10).

K Wes Byrum set an Auburn single-season record with 123 points in 2010, becoming the all-time leading scorer in school history.

In 2010, Auburn led the SEC and ranked ninth in the nation in punt coverage, allowing 4.6 yards per return. The Tigers also ranked 16th in the nation, permitting 19.7 yards per kickoff return.

In 2009, Byrum set a single-season school records for field goal pct. (93.8, 15 of 16), as well as PAT conversions and attempts (54).

In 2009, Boulware guided RB Demond Washington to an Auburn single-season record with a 31.1-yard kickoff return average.

Iowa State’s Leonard Johnson set an FBS single-game record with 319 KO return yards vs. Oklahoma State in 2008.

During his tenure at Stanford was part of the NFL Minority Coaching Fellowship Program, working with the 49ers in the summer of 2004.

Mentored All-Pac-10 RB Mike Bell who finished his collegiate career with 3,163 rushing yards, the third-highest total in Arizona history.

One of his star pupils with Northern Illinois was offensive lineman Ryan Diem, who went on to an 11-year NFL career with Indianapolis.

In 2000, Northern Illinois ranked 12th in the nation in rushing (228.1 ypg) and 17th in total offense (427.8 ypg).

Tutored All-America TE Pat Fitzgerald at Texas, who was drafted by the Buffalo Bills in 1997.


Served as a reserve offensive lineman for two seasons at Texas. Was slated to enter the starting lineup for the Longhorns in 1993 before a diagnosis of cardiac arrhythmia ended his playing career.


Samaje Perine (Oklahoma); All-Big 12 First Tea
Alex Ross (Oklahoma); All-Big 12 First Team (Kick Returner)
Blake Bell (Oklahoma), 49ers
Aaron Ripkowski (Oklahoma), Packers
Jalen Saunders (Oklahoma); All-America Third Team (Punt Returner); All-Big 12 First Team
Trey Millard (Oklahoma), Chiefs; Three-time First Team All-Big 12
Michael Hunnicutt (Oklahoma); All-Big 12 Second Team
Philip Lutzenkirchen (Auburn); All-SEC Second Team
Steven Clark (Auburn); All-SEC First Team
CJ Uzomah (Auburn), Bengals
Jay Prosch (Auburn), Texans
Cody Parkey (Auburn), Eagles; One-Time Pro Bowler
Ryan Diem (Northern Illinois); All-Mid-American Conference
Pat Fitzgerald (Texas); All-America First Team
Mike Bell (Arizona); All-Pac-10