Four Sooners Earn Academic Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 23, 2013

April 23, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. – Four members of the University of Oklahoma women’s tennis team were named to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 teams, announced by the conference Tuesday, April 23.

Juniors Mia Lancaster, Whitney Ritchie and Whitney Wofford and sophomore Abbi Melrose earned first team honors.

Lancaster and Ritchie earned academic honors for the second straight year, making the second team last year, while Melrose and Wofford made the list for the first time.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA and must have participated in 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contests.

The 36th-ranked Oklahoma women’s tennis team will open the 2013 Big 12 Championship at the No. 6 seed on Friday, April 26, against three-seeded Texas at 3 p.m., at Headington Family Tennis Center in Norman, Okla.

Ticket information for the Big 12 Championship can be found here: /ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=31000&ATCLID=208398397

Follow @OUWomensTennis on Twitter and like Oklahoma Women’s Tennis on Facebook for more information on the women’s tennis program.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.