OU Softball Tradition | Sooners in the Pros OU Softball Main 
 Player  Team(s)  Years  Active  Draft  Pick
 Becky  Burroughs  WPF Storm  1995  --
 Norelle  Dickson  Akron Racers  2007-08  No. 6  (2007)
 Lauren  Eckermann  Rockford Thunder  --  No. 12  (2008)
 Christina  Enea  Chicago Bandits  2005-06  No. 13  (2005) 
 Erin Evans  Texas/Rockford  Thunder  2004-05,  2007-08  (2004)
 Amber  Flores  USSSA Pride  2010  No. 5  (2010)
 Michelle  Gascoigne  Chicago Bandits  2013  No. 7  (2013)
 Leah Gulla  Colorado  --  (2004)
 Jennifer  Jaime  Virginia Roadsters  1998  No. 11  (1998)
 Rachel  Johnson  Tampa Bay Firestix  1998  No. 15  (1998)
 Kami Keiter  Akron Racers  --  No. 11  (2005)
 Savannah  Long  Philadelphia Force  2008  No. 8  (2008)
 D.J. Mathis  Akron Racers  2009  No. 2  (2009)
 Lana Moran  Carolina Diamonds  --  --
 Jill Most  Carolina Diamonds  1998  --
 Susan  Ogden  Akron Racers  2008  No. 18  (2008)
 Laura  Purser  Durham Dragons,  Tampa Bay FireStix  1998, '99  --
 Keilani  Ricketts  USSSA Pride  N/A  No. 4  (2013)
 Samantha  Ricketts  Akron Racers  2009-10  No. 12  (2009)
 Christy Ring  Colorado (NPF)  --  (2004)
 Heather  Scaglione  NY/NJ Juggernaut,  Arizona Heat  2005, '06  No. 4  (2005)
 Jessica  Shults  USSSA Pride  2013  No. 5  (2013)
 Jennifer  Stewart  Philadelphia Force  2006  --
 Brianna  Turang  Akron Racers  2013  No. 9  (2013)
 April Valdez  Arizona Heat,
 Akron Racers
 2006, '07  --
 Lynette  Velasquez  Georgia Pride,
 Florida Wahoos
 1999, '00  --
 Kristin  Vesely  New England Riptide  2006  No. 4  (2006)
As the sport of softball has risen in popularity over the last decade, the number of opportunities for collegiate athletes to play following their career has sky-rocketed.

The Sooners have watched numerous alums graduate to the professional ranks. As far back as Jill Most, Jennfier Jaime and Lynnette Velasquez, OU has made an impact on the highest stage of softball. Oklahoma has now had 18 players drafted to the NPF league since its inaugural draft prior to the 2004 season.

The selections of Keilani Ricketts, Jessica Shults, Michelle Gascoigne and Brianna Turang in 2013 were a school record, topping the three Sooners that were chosen in 2008. All four players were chosen within the first nine selections, highlighted by pitcher Ricketts, who was drafted by the USSSA Florida Pride with the fourth overall pick. Ricketts' selection was the second highest for a Sooner, bested only by DJ Mathis being chosen second overall in 2009 by the Akron Racers.

Due to NCAA regulations, an active college senior-athlete may not sign with her respective franchise until their season is over.

National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Nashville, Tenn. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names of Women's Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women's Pro Softball League (WPSL). NPF is the Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball in the category of women's fastpitch softball since 2002.