Football Announces 2012 Team Award Winners

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
DECEMBER 14, 2012
NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma football team recognized its senior class and numerous individuals at the team's annual dinner and awards ceremony Friday.

Head coach Bob Stoops recognized 21 seniors for their accomplishments and contributions. This year's senior class registered four consecutive bowl berths and two Big 12 championships, while registering a 40-12 overall record. This contingent of seniors produced a 21-3 home mark and a 25-9 conference record, including three straight victories against Texas.






Headlining the individual award winners were seniors, defensive lineman David King and quarterback Landry Jones. King was recognized as the recipient of the Don Key Award, while Jones was presented with the Bob Kalsu Award. King, a native of Houston, Texas, earned Academic All-Big 12 First Team honors and was also an All-Big 12 Second Team pick as selected by the conference's coaches.
The Don Key Award is presented annually to a senior who exemplifies all-around excellence in the classroom and on the field. Key was a three-year starter for the Sooners, an All-Big 8 guard and potential All-American until cancer surgery ended his football career in 1981. Barry Switzer established the Don Key Award in 1982.
Jones, a product of Artesia, N.M., owns the most victories (39) of any quarterback in OU history, and is also the Big 12's all-time leader in passing yards (16,368) and total offense (16,000 yards).
The Kalsu Award is bestowed annually to a member of the team who personifies Kalsu's spirit of leadership, serving as a motivator and role model for his teammates. Kalsu earned All-America honors in 1967 as an offensive tackle while helping the Sooners to a Big 8 Championship. Serving as a member of the U.S. Army's highly-decorated 101st Airborne Division, Kalsu was killed by North Vietnamese mortar fire on July 21, 1970.

Fullback Aaron Ripkowski was selected as the recipient of the Derrick Shepard Most Inspirational Walk-On Award. Ripkowski, a sophomore from Dayton, Texas, served as an integral part of the club's special teams and also served on short-yardage and goal-line formations.
Shepard joined the OU roster as a walk-on in 1983 before earning a prominent role as a wide receiver and return man on the Sooners' 1985 National Championship team. Shepard passed away at the age of 35 in 1999 after suffering a heart attack.

See below for other players honored at Friday's event:

  Special Teams Players of the Year


  Scout Team Players of the Year








Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.