Rowers Honored at Scholar-Athlete Breakfast

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 15, 2014
NORMAN, Okla. -- Multiple members of the Oklahoma rowing team were honored as part of the OU Athletic Department's annual Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar-Athlete Breakfast held Tuesday morning.

Kim Moldenhauer - Dan Gibbens Outstanding Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Bestowed upon 10 student-athletes who have attained the highest level of scholarly and athletic success in the prior calendar year. Scholarship is to be measured by appropriate indices and academic attainment including grade point average. Athletic success is to be measured by overall athletic performance. It is named for Dan Gibbens, who served as OU’s Faculty Athletics Representative for over a quarter century, and worked diligently on behalf of student-athlete welfare.

Moldenhauer is Oklahoma's only NCAA Elite 89 winner, an award that recognizes the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average who has reached the competition at the finals site for each of the NCAA's 89 men's and women's championships across its three divisions. The junior has won multiple Big 12 and C-USA and regional academic honors and is currently a member of the varsity eight for OU.

Taylor Spencer - Jay Myers Award
Given to freshmen student-athletes who best combine excellence in scholarship with potential excellence in athletics.

Spencer has competed multiple times in her inaugural season at OU this year, most recently in the novice eight that took first over crews from No. 1 Cal and No. 4 USC on Saturday at the Lake Natoma Invitational in California.

Marilyn Kozlowski & Emmie Preskitt - Big 12 Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Awards
Initiated in 2011, the Gerald Lage Award is the Big 12 Conference's highest academic honor. It is named for Dr. Gerald Lage, who was the Faculty Athletics Representative at Oklahoma State University from 1983-07. To be eligible for this award, students must have earned 100 hours with a 3.80 GPA, be a letterwinner, and must be in residence at their institution for at least one academic year. Students may only receive this recognition one time.

Two of five Sooners to earn the Gerald Lage Award, Kozlowski is a senior and Preskitt is a junior this season. Kozlowski currently rows with the Sooner varsity eight and last year helped the 2V8 win both the Big 12 and Conference USA titles. Preskitt, another member of the varsity eight this season, was an All-Big 12 Second Team honoree in 2013 and was a member of the varsity eight that also finished first at the Big 12 Championships.

2nd Place - CHAMPS/Life Skills Team Competition
The team receiving this award has earned the most competition points by attendance at life skills events, athletics competitions and campus events as well as involvement in the community. Rowing took second behind the Sooner baseball team in this year's competition.

Other members of the team were also honored for being named to various conference academic teams and as Sooner Scholars with a 3.0 GPA or higher.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.