Sooners Down Hofstra 36-6

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 17, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. -- The fifth-ranked University of Oklahoma wrestling team improved to 3-0 on the season as it defeated Hofstra 36-6 inside McCasland Field House Sunday afternoon in the first of two duals for the day.

The match started with the 149-pound bout featuring redshirt senior Kendric Maple and Hofstra’s Cody Ruggirello. No. 2 Maple, who had 3:18 riding time, recorded two takedowns and a reversal en route to an 8-2 decision.

At 157 pounds, redshirt junior Justin DeAngelis claimed a major decision over junior Nick Terdick, 19-8. DeAngelis accumulated 2:42 riding time.

Redshirt freshman Clark Glass faced No. 12 Joe Booth of Hofstra in the 165-pound match. After a close battle, Booth topped Glass in a 2-0 decision. In the match, Booth had one escape and earned the riding time point with 1:43.

No. 1 Andrew Howe recorded the first of three OU falls on the afternoon as he topped Victor Pozsonyi by a 2:01 fall.

The 184-pound match was a close one between true freshmen Danny Chaid of OU and Dwight Howes of Hofstra. Chaid trailed 2-1 but added a takedown late in the third period to claim the bout by decision, 3-2.

In the 197-pound match, redshirt senior and fifth-ranked Travis Rutt defeated redshirt sophomore David Heitman by a 1:56 fall.

Redshirt freshman Ross Larson added a third fall for the Sooners with a 2:07 fall over freshman Mike Hughes of Hofstra. Larson made his season debut into the InterMat rankings this week at No. 16.

No. 5 Jarrod Patterson claimed a 5-3 decision over fellow redshirt senior Jamie Franco at 125 pounds, while Cody Brewer won the 133-pound bout by technical fall over redshirt freshman Jamel Hudson, 17-1.

In the only match of the day that pitted ranked wrestlers against each other, No. 13 Nick Lester fell to No. 10 Luke Vaith, 6-3.

The Sooners return to action tonight as they face Bucknell at 7 p.m. inside McCasland Field House, and tickets are still available for purchase. Season tickets and single-meet tickets are now on sale online or by calling the OU Athletics Ticket Office at (405) 325-2424 or toll-free at (800) 456-GoOU.

Final Score
Oklahoma: 36
Hofstra: 6

149: Kendric Maple (OU) dec. Cody Ruggirello (Hofstra), 8-2
157: Justin DeAngelis (OU) maj. dec. Nick Terdick (Hofstra), 19-8
165: Joe Booth (Hofstra) dec. Clark Glass (OU), 2-0
174: Andrew Howe (OU) fall Victor Pozsonyi (Hofstra), 2:01
184: Danny Chaid (OU) dec. Dwight Howes (Hofstra), 3-2
197: Travis Rutt (OU) fall David Heitman (Hofstra), 1:56
285: Ross Larson (OU) fall Mike Hughes (Hofstra), 2:07
125: Jarrod Patterson (OU) dec. Jamie Franco (Hofstra), 5-3
133: Cody Brewer (OU) tech. fall Jamel Hudson (Hofstra), 17-1
141: Luke Vaith (Hofstra) dec. Nick Lester (OU), 6-3



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.