Oklahoma Takes 14th Straight Brockport Invitational

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 10, 2012

Nov. 10, 2012

NORMAN, Okla. -- The University of Oklahoma wrestling team brought home its 14th consecutive Brockport/Oklahoma Invitational title Saturday night after it totaled 155.5 points at the annual event held in Brockport, N.Y., home of Brockport State University.

Maryland followed with 127.5 points for the runner-up spot, while Army took third with 110. American, Buffalo and Brockport State rounded out the final teams with 102, 90.5 and 22.5 points, respectively.

To date, Oklahoma is the only school to take home the annual Brockport Invitational title.

For the second consecutive year, Oklahoma's Kendric Maple was named Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Invitational after he claimed the 141-pound title with a 1:17 fall over Buffalo's Andrew Schutt. The redshirt junior also notched the fastest pin of the night when he took down Matt Dorf of American in 00:13 in the first round of competition.

Maple was joined by four other Sooners who earned wins in New York in Cody Brewer (133), Nick Lester (149), Matt Lester (157) and Bubby Graham (165).


Brewer joined Maple by earning his championship title in the 133-pound class with a fall, taking down Geoffrey Alexander of Maryland in 4:23.

Graham captured his 165-pound title with a 16-6 major decision over American's Phil Barriero, while Nick and Matt Lester earned their wins with 5-2 and 5-3 decisions, respectively. Matt battled against fellow Sooner Justin DeAngelis in the 157 bout, who was the first of two runner-up wrestlers in the Crimson and Cream.

Keldrick Hall took second in the heavyweights after dropping a 9-2 decision to American's Blake Herrin.

A duo of freshmen in Kyle Garcia (125) and Matt Reed (174) teamed up with redshirt junior Kyle Detmer (165) to garner three OU third-place finishes in their respective weight classes.

Chase Gordon (149) and Scott Chene (133) rounded out Sooner top-five finishes with fourth- and fifth-place efforts at the Invitational, respectively.

The Sooners will hit the mat on Nov. 24, when they travel back up North to Albany, N.Y., for the Northeast Duals.


  1. Oklahoma                 155.5 points
  2. Maryland                   127.5 points
  3. Army                        110 points
  4. American                  102 points
  5. Buffalo                      90.5 points
  6. Brockport State         22.5 points


125: Shane Dentry (Maryland) dec. David Terao (American), 5-2
133: Cody Brewer (Oklahoma)
fall Geoffrey Alexander (Maryland), 4:23
141: Kendric Maple (Oklahoma)
fall Andrew Schutt (Buffalo), 1:17
149: Nick Lester (Oklahoma)
dec. Daniel Young (Army), 5-2
157: Matt Lester (Oklahoma)
dec. Justin DeAnglis (Oklahoma), 4-3
165: Patrick Graham (Oklahoma)
major dec. Phil Barriero (American), 16-6
Josh Asper (Maryland) fall Keithan Cast (American), 3:49
184: Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland) major dec. Collin Wittmeyer (Army), 15-6
197: Christian Boley (Maryland) dec. Bryce Barnes (Army), 11-9
285: Blake Herrin (American) dec. Keldrick Hall (Oklahoma), 9-2




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.