OU to Send Eight Wrestlers to NCAAs

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 12, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. -- Eight starters from the 14th-ranked Oklahoma wrestling squad will compete at the 2014 NCAA Championships March 20-22 (Thursday-Saturday) inside Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Seven Sooners qualified automatically following the Big 12 Championship last weekend, and redshirt freshman Ross Larson received an at-large bid at heavyweight on Wednesday. Larson will join teammates Jarrod Patterson (125), Cody Brewer (133), Nick Lester (141), Kendric Maple (149), Justin DeAngelis (157), Andrew Howe (174) and Travis Rutt (197) at the event.

The total surpasses the five participants OU sent to the NCAA Championships last season, where it finished 12th overall.

Additionally, complete brackets and first round matchups were announced by the NCAA on Wednesday. Sooners awarded national seeds are No. 6 Patterson, No. 13 Brewer, No. 4 Maple, No. 2 Howe and No. 7 Rutt.

The first session of the NCAA Championships is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. CT on Thursday, March 20, with the matches airing on ESPNU and online at ESPN3.

OU’s First Round Matchups (with NCAA seed)
125: No. 6 Jarrod Patterson vs. Nick Herrmann (UVA)
133: No. 13 Cody Brewer (OU) vs. Vincent Pizzuto (EMU)
141: Nick Lester (OU) vs. Gabe Moreno (Iowa State) in pigtail match; winner faces No. 1 Mitchell Port (Edinboro) in first round
149: No. 4 Kendric Maple (OU) vs. Tywan Claxton (Ohio)
157: Justin DeAngelis (OU) vs. Brian Murphy (Michigan) in pigtail match; winner faces No. 13 Dylan Alton in first round
174: No. 2 Andrew Howe (OU) vs. Mike England (Missouri)
197: No. 7 Travis Rutt (OU) vs. Brandon Palik (Drexell)
285: Ross Larson (OU) vs. No. 4 Adam Coon (Michigan)



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.