OU Secures 15th Straight Brockport Title

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 09, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. -- The fifth-ranked University of Oklahoma wrestling team secured its 15th consecutive Brockport/Oklahoma Invitational Saturday as it totaled 168.0 points and six of its wrestlers won individual titles at the annual event held in the Special Events Recreation Center in Brockport, N.Y.

Seventeenth-ranked Bloomsburg came in second with 133.0 points, followed by Army in third with 101.0 points. Buffalo, American and Brockport rounded out the standings with 95.5, 91.0 and 31.5 points, respectively.

To date, Oklahoma is the only school to take home the event’s title. Redshirt senior Jarrod Patterson, redshirt sophomore Cody Brewer, redshirt senior Nick Lester, redshirt senior Justin DeAngelis, redshirt senior Andrew Howe and redshirt senior Travis Rutt all won titles in their respective weight classes.

Patterson claimed the 125-pound title with a 5-3 decision over David Terao of American. En route to the finals, Patterson recorded a 0:33 fall, 4-1 decision and a 8-1 decision.

With a 15-8 decision, Brewer took the 133-pound division over Bloomsburg’s Nick Wilcox. Prior to the finals, Brewer recorded three technical fall victories of 16-0, 18-0 and 16-1.

Lester won at 141 pounds by decision over Nick Flannery of Buffalo, 12-6. Lester secured two technical falls and another decision earlier in the tournament.

DeAngelis finished at the top of the 157-pound class with a 10-8 decision against Army’s Paul Hancock. DeAngelis received the Aggregate Pin Award after recording two pins in the event in 3:11.

In the 174-pound bracket, Howe finished first with a 6:29 fall over Army’s Brian Harvey in the final bout, while Rutt won at 197 pounds following an 8-2 decision against Bloomsburg’s Rich Perry. Howe secured a 22-7 technical fall in the semifinals, and Rutt added a 2:06 fall in the first round.

OU also had three runner-up finishes from redshirt senior Kendric Maple, redshirt freshman Clark Glass and redshirt freshman Ross Larson at 149 pounds, 165 pounds and heavyweight, respectively.

Maple fell in overtime 5-3 to Bryce Busler of Bloomsburg, who went on to receive the Outstanding Wrestler award for the tournament. Josh Veltre of Bloomsburg topped Glass in a 4-1 decision, while Larson fell by decision to American’s Blake Herrin, 4-3.

Finishing third for the Sooners were redshirt sophomore Dalton Dennis (141) and freshman Danny Chaid (184). Redshirt freshman Dryden Dennis finished fourth in the 149-pound competition. Freshman Stone Drulman (184) and redshirt junior Zach Merrill (HWT) placed sixth.

Also competing for the Sooners were redshirt junior Josh Durham (141), redshirt freshman Tim Hamilton (157), junior Peter Huang (157) and redshirt junior Derek Geiges (157).

The Sooners will be back in action on Sunday, Nov. 17, when they welcome Hofstra and Bucknell to McCasland Field House for a double dual day. The contest again Hofstra is slated for 1 p.m., and OU will then face Bucknell at 7 p.m. Tickets are available online or by calling the OU Athletics Ticket Office at (405) 325-2424 or toll-free at (800) 456-GoOU.  

1. Oklahoma          168.0 points
2. Bloomsburg        133.0 points
3. Army                   101.0 points
4. Buffalo                 95.5 points
5. American             91.0 points
6. Brockport             31.5 points

125: Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma) dec. David Terao (American), 5-3
133: Cody Brewer (Oklahoma) dec. Nick Wilcox (Bloomsburg), 15-8
141: Nick Lester (Oklahoma) dec. Nick Flannery (Buffalo), 12-6
149: Bryce Busler (Bloomsburg) OT Kendric Maple (Oklahoma), 5-3
157: Justin DeAngelis (Oklahoma) dec. Paul Hancock (Army), 10-8
165: Josh Veltre (Bloomsburg) dec. Clark Glass (Oklahoma), 4-1
174: Andrew Howe (Oklahoma) fall Brian Harvey (Army), 6:29
184: Ryan Tompkins (Army) dec. Tony Lock (Buffalo), 6-3
197: Travis Rutt (Oklahoma) dec. Rich Perry (Bloomsburg), 8-2
HWT: Blake Herrin (American) dec. Ross Larson (Oklahoma), 4-3



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.