Red and White Squads Tie in Scrimmage

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
OCTOBER 29, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. -- The annual University of Oklahoma wrestling Red/White scrimmage saw the White and Red squads tie, 20-20, in McCasland Field House Tuesday evening.

The match began at 125 pounds between three-year starter Jarrod Patterson, who is returning to competition after redshirting last season, of the red team and Sean Williams, freshman from Tulare, Calif. In the second, Patterson won by fall, 3:42.

In the 133-pound matchup, redshirt junior Josh Durham took to the mat against redshirt sophomore and 2013 All-American Cody Brewer. Brewer defeated Durham by major decision, 15-2.

Redshirt senior Nick Lester won the 141-pound contest against redshirt sophomore Dalton Dennis. Lester opened with a takedown and went on to win the match, 5-0.

It was a tight match in the 149-pound bout between two-time All-American and 2013 NCAA Champion Kendric Maple and freshman Oliver Pierce. Maple registered an escape in the second period and another in the third to win, 2-0.

The 157-pound bout featured redshirt junior Justin DeAngelis and redshirt junior Derek Geiges. DeAngelis won by decision, 4-1.

After redshirting in the 2012-13 season, redshirt freshman Clark Glass earned his spot in the lineup in style, claiming a 10-0 major decision over freshman Shayne Tucker in the 165-pound match.

Redshirt senior Andrew Howe made a statement in the 174 pound match as he took the match over sophomore Matt Reed by tech fall with 1:24 left in the third period, 21-5.

The 184-pound match pitted two freshmen, Stone Drulman and Daniel Chaid, against each other. Chaid won by a fall with 0:12 left in the first period.

“We need to bring that quality of freshmen into our program and to get it where we want it to go,” OU head coach Mark Cody said. “Particularly losing our six All-Americans next season.”

In the 197-pound bout, redshirt senior Travis Rutt struck first against sophomore Brad Johnson with a takedown in the first period, then added near fall. Rutt eventually won by decision, 6-1.

The heavyweight match between redshirt junior and transfer Zach Merrill and redshirt freshman Ross Larson featured a close finish. Larson registered a takedown in the first to take a 2-0 lead, and Merrill answered with an escape in the second period to cut the lead to 2-1. No one scored in the third, and Larson claimed the match, 2-1.

“As far as the team goes, it’s not even set yet,” Cody said following the scrimmage. “It’s not even close to being set as far as what we’re going to do at several weight classes.”

The Sooners will officially open the 2013-14 season at 5 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2, as they face Shorter College at Southmoore High School in Moore, Okla. United Way will be running the event, with proceeds going toward tornado relief.

OU will return to McCasland Field House to battle Oklahoma City University at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Season and single-match tickets are available now. To order your 2013-14 OU wrestling tickets, please contact the OU Athletics Ticket Office by phone at (405) 325-2424 or toll-free at (800) 456-GoOU, or by visiting

Final Score

125: Patterson (Red) fall Williams (White), 3:42
133: Brewer (White) maj. dec. Durham (Red), 15-2
141: Lester (Red) dec. Dennis (White), 5-0
149: Maple (White) dec. Pierce (Red), 2-0
157: DeAngelis (Red) dec. Geiges (White), 4-1
165: Glass (White) maj. dec. Tucker (Red), 10-0
174: Howe (Red) tech fall Reed (White), 21-5
184: Chaid (White) fall Drulman (Red), 2:48
197: Rutt (Red) dec. Johnson (White), 6-1
HWT: Larson (White) dec. Merrill (Red), 2-1



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.