National Championships


The University of Oklahoma owns one of the greatest winning traditions in intercollegiate athletics. OU expects great things from all its athletics teams. Time and time again, the Sooners have delivered with 38 team national championships.

Oklahoma currently boasts a streak of seven consecutive years with at least one national championship, including four in 2017 and three in 2016.

OU's three 2016 NCAA titles were claimed in a span of 53 days: men's and women's gymnastics on April 16 and softball on June 8. It marked the first time in school history that the Sooners won three team national championships in the same semester. Oklahoma bettered the feat in 2017 with four in 52 days: women's gym on April 15, men's gym on April 22, men's golf on May 31 and softball on June 6.

Men's gymnastics leads all OU teams with 12 national championships and is followed by football (7), wrestling (7), softball (4), women's gymnastics (4), baseball (2) and men's golf (2).

Learn more about each of OU's 38 national championships by clicking the links below.