Sooners Earn No. 1 National Seed

Chelsey Kraft
By Chelsey Kraft
Assistant Director of Communications
MARCH 20, 2017

NORMAN — The Oklahoma women's gymnastics team has earned the nation's No. 1 overall seed heading into postseason competition for the third consecutive season, the NCAA announced today. The Sooners were tabbed as the top seed in the NCAA Seattle Regional, where they will face No. 12 Kentucky, No. 13 Washington, Utah State, Stanford and BYU on Saturday, April 1.

OU, which holds a program-record regional qualifying score (RQS) of 198.010, will aim for its eighth consecutive regional title and a 14th straight NCAA Championship berth at regional competition. Last weekend, the Sooners captured their sixth straight Big 12 Championship with a score of 197.850. The Sooners will enter the regional with a perfect 18-0 record.

This will mark the first time this season that OU has faced any of the squads in its regional.

In addition to qualifying teams, Oklahoma will face individual all-around competitors and event qualifiers from UC Davis, Sacramento State, San Jose State and Seattle Pacific.

The top two finishing teams from each NCAA regional will advance to the 2017 NCAA Championships in St. Louis, Mo. The meet is set for April 14-15 in Chaifetz Arena. Semifinal competition will take place on April 14 and the Super Six team finals are set for April 15.

The NCAA Seattle Regional is set to begin at 6 p.m. CT inside Alaska Airline Arena. Tickets are available for purchase online.

 NCAA Regionals  
Site Team Seed (National Seed)
NCAA Seattle Regional Oklahoma 1 (1)
  Kentucky 2 (12)
  Washington* 3 (13)
  Utah State 4
  Stanford 5
  BYU 6
NCAA Fayetteville Regional Utah 1 (4)
  Denver 2 (9)
  California 3 (16)
  Auburn 4
  Arkansas* 5
  Central Michigan 6
NCAA Gainesville Regional Florida* 1 (3)
  Georgia 2 (10)
  Missouri 3 (15)
  New Hampshire 4
  Penn State 5
  North Carolina 6
NCAA Urbana-Champaign Regional UCLA 1 (5)
  Oregon State 2 (8)
  Iowa 3 (17)
  Illinois* 4
  Eastern Michigan 5
  Ohio State 6
NCAA Lincoln Regional LSU 1 (2)
  Boise State 2 (11)
  Nebraska* 3 (14)
  Arizona 4
  Iowa State 5
  Minnesota 6
NCAA Morgantown Regional Alabama 1 (6)
  Michigan 2 (7)
  Southern Utah 3 (18)
  George Washington 4
  West Virginia* 5
  Kent State 6
*host institution