The Official Site of Oklahoma Sooner Sports

Eight Wrestlers Earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

OU's Academic All-Big 12 Wrestlers
Team Student-Athlete Major
First Zach Atencio Human Relations
First Jake Boyd Petroleum Engineering
First Christian Moody Health and Exercise Science
First Jared Schieber Management
First Justin Thomas Criminology
First Jake Woodley Health and Exercise Science
Second  Hayden Hansen Criminology
Second Noah Teaney Arts and Sciences - Planned Program 

NORMAN – Eight Oklahoma wrestlers were named to the 2019 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling team, the conference announced Thursday.

OU had five first-team honorees in redshirt freshmen Jake Boyd and Jake Woodley; sophomores Zach Atencio and Justin Thomas; redshirt junior Christian Moody; and redshirt senior Jared Schieber.  

Redshirt junior Hayden Hansen and redshirt senior Noah Teaney were named to the second team.

This marks the first career honor for both Boyd and Woodley, and the second first-team accolade for both Moody and Thomas. Moody (Health and Exercise Sciences) has earned nine wins on the season and currently rides a three-match winning streak. His last victory came as a win by fall in 3:30 at Fresno State.

Thomas, a criminology major, has compiled a 15-8 record on the year and broke into the InterMat rankings this week at No. 20. The Huntington Beach, Calif., native leads the team in major decisions with five. Woodley owns a 12-9 mark and has won his last three straight, including a win over then-No. 14 Josh Hokit at Fresno State.

Sixty-one student-athletes made the first team, while 30 selections make up the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Sooners are home to close out the regular season with South Dakota State Friday inside Lloyd Noble Center, followed by North Dakota State on Sunday at McCasland Field House for senior day. OU will recognize seniors Schieber, Teaney, Davion Jeffries, Reece Henry, Kayne MacCallum and Jake Rubio at the beginning of the North Dakota State match in the class' final contest in Norman.

Tickets can be purchased online or by calling the OU Athletics Ticket Office at (405) 325-2424. 

For updates, follow @OU_Wrestling on Twitter, or like Oklahoma Wrestling on Facebook.

To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care