The Official Site of Oklahoma Sooner Sports
 OU Wrestling Tradition | 7 National Championships OU Wrestling Main 
OU's first national championship in any sport came when head coach Paul V. Keen led the wrestling program to the NCAA title in 1936. It was the first chapter in what has become one of the nation's most storied programs.
Six more championships have followed, including three under Port Robertson (1951, '52 and '57), two under Tommy Evans (1960 and '63), and the latest under Stan Abel in 1974.
Since then, Oklahoma has finished among the top 10 at the national tournament 27 times, including four runner-up finishes. It's only a matter of time before the Sooners add even more hardware to the trophy case.
1936 National Champions 1951 National Champions 1952 National Champions 1957 National Champions
1936 | 4-2 Record
Coach Paul V. Keen
1951 | 9-0 Record
Coach Port Robertson
1952 | 9-0 Record
Coach Port Robertson
1957 | 8-0 Record
Coach Port Robertson
1960 National Champions 1963 National Champions 1974 National Champions  
1960 | 13-2 Record
Coach Tommy Evans
1963 | 10-3 Record
Coach Tommy Evans
1974 | 19-6 Record
Coach Stan Abel


To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care