Clifton, Juarez Sweep Final Big 12 Weekly Awards

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN —Oklahoma senior infielder Caleigh Clifton and junior pitcher Giselle Juarez swept the final Big 12 weekly awards of the 2019 season, the conference office announced Tuesday.

Clifton was named the Big 12 Player of the Week for the third time this season while Juarez was tabbed Big 12 Pitcher of the Week for the fourth week in a row and sixth time this year.

Overall, the Sooners finished the 2019 season with 16 weekly accolades, marking a conference record for most earned by one team in a year.

Clifton started all three of OU's games against No. 12/13 Oklahoma State at second base, ranking second in the Big 12 in batting average (.500), on-base percentage (.600) and slugging percentage (1.125). She drove in three runs and scored three runs, both totals leading the Sooners in their sweep of the Cowgirls.

The Wayne, Okla., product homered and tripled during the Bedlam series. Behind Clifton’s performance, OU led the Big 12 in batting average (.370), on-base percentage (.447) and slugging percentage (.642) last week.

Juarez opened the series with a one-hit shutout against the Cowgirls, striking out 13 batters. Her 13 strikeouts are the most by a Big 12 pitcher in a conference game this season and mark the most by any pitcher against OSU in a single game this season. Additionally, she has reached double-digit strikeouts in each of her last five starts.

The Glendale, Ariz., native’s strikeout total led the Big 12 this week. Juarez allowed just one hit over seven innings to pace the conference in opponent batting average (.043).

Postseason play begins this weekend as the conference’s top six teams compete in the 2019 Big 12 Tournament at USA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City Friday-Saturday. As the Big 12 regular season champions, the Sooners will be the tournament's No. 1 seed. 

In Friday’s pool play, the Sooners will face No. 4 seed Texas Tech at 2 p.m. before taking on No. 6 seed Kansas at 7:30 p.m.