Sooners Headed to NCAA Pullman Regional

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN – The Oklahoma men’s golf team was selected as the No. 1 seed at the NCAA Pullman Regional, set for May 13-15 at the Palouse Ridge Golf Club in Pullman, Wash.

The Sooners, ranked No. 7 nationally by GolfStat, will make their ninth consecutive NCAA Regional appearance under 10th-year head coach Ryan Hybl and the 47th overall appearance in school history.

This marks the second straight season OU has been selected as a No. 1 seed.

The 14-team, 54-hole tournament is one of six NCAA Regionals. It will include 18 holes each day and serve as the preliminary event for the NCAA Championship. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the NCAA Championship, scheduled for May 24-29 at The Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.

NCAA Regionals will take place in Austin, Texas, Athens, Ga., Louisville, Ky., Myrtle Beach, S.C., Pullman, Wash., and Stanford, Calif.

In addition to OU, eight other Big 12 schools qualified for a NCAA Regional: No. 1 Oklahoma State (Louisville), No. 1 Texas (Austin), No. 3 Texas Tech (Myrtle Beach), No. 5 TCU (Austin), No. 5 Baylor (Louisville), No. 7 Iowa State (Louisville), No. 7 Kansas (Stanford) and No. 8 West Virginia (Louisville).

The Sooners have won five NCAA Regionals in school history including the 2018 NCAA Regional last year at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club. OU’s previous regional titles came in 1989, 1995, 2001 and 2015.

OU enters the NCAA Pullman Regional after tying for third place at the Big 12 Championship, its seventh straight top-3 finish. The Sooners have won three team titles and have nine top-3 finishes overall this season.


1. Oklahoma (7)
2. Georgia Tech (8)
3. South Carolina (15)
4. Texas A&M (26)
5. UCLA (29)
6. BYU (30)
7. Colorado State (44)
8. Florida (42)
9. Michigan State (56)
10. Purdue (61)
11. Kent State (89)
12. Northern Colorado (101)
13. Wright State (203)
14. Iona (242)

1. Thomas Hutchison, UC Davis
2. Zach Smith, UC Santa Barbara
3. Daniel O’Loughlin, Colorado
4. Tim Widing, San Francisco
5. Jake Chanen, Grand Canyon