Cummins Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN — Oklahoma redshirt junior Quade Cummins has been named to the watch list for the 2019 Ben Hogan Award.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period from June to May.

Cummins, a PING Honorable Mention All-American last season, posted a 70.00 stroke average during the fall season and earned a runner-up finish at the Ka’anapali Classic with a three-round 198 (-15). His 54-hole total at the event was the third-lowest ever by a Sooner.

The Weatherford, Okla., native also won the Sun Bowl All-America Classic in November, using a final round 62 (-9) to force a playoff where he earned the event title.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 17. On Thursday, May 2, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 20, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Charles Schwab Challenge, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee votes during each stage of the process. It is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Ben Hogan Award winners have combined to accumulate 41 PGA TOUR victories and more than $200 million in prize money. Six winners are currently ranked in the top 100 in the Official World Golf Rankings—Jon Rahm, Rickie Fowler, Patrick Cantlay, Kyle Stanley, Ryan Moore and Peter Uihlein. Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes, Matt Every, Doug Ghim, Bill Haas, Chris Kirk, Hunter Mahan, Maverick McNealy, Patrick Rodgers, Nick Taylor, D.J. Trahan and Chris Williams.

Watch List Candidates

Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State, Sr., Forest, Va.

Callum Bruce, Midland College, So., Banff, Scotland

Quade Cummins, Oklahoma, Jr., Weatherford, Okla.

Chandler Eaton, Duke, Jr., Alpharetta, Ga.

Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern, Sr., Stockbridge, Ga.

Stephen Franken, NC State, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.

Luis Gagne, LSU, Sr., Orlando, Fla.

Will Gordon, Vanderbilt, Sr., Davidson, N.C.

Will Grimmer, Ohio State, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio

Cole Hammer, Texas, Fr., Houston, Texas

Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State, Jr., Oslo, Norway

Philip Knowles, North Florida, Sr., Bradenton, Fla.

Peter Kuest, BYU, Jr., Fresno, Calif.

Brandon Mancheno, Auburn, So., Jacksonville, Fla.

Collin Morikawa, California, Sr., La Canada Flintridge, Calif.

Bryson Nimmer, Clemson, Sr., Bluffton, S.C.

Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M, Sr., Huntsville, Texas

Trent Phillips, Georgia, Fr., Inman, S.C.

Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State, Jr., Bangkok, Thailand

Isaiah Salinda, Stanford, Sr., South San Francisco, Calif.

Matthias Schmid, Louisville, So., Maxhvette, Germany

Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech, Jr., Powder Springs, Ga.

Alex Smalley, Duke, Sr., Wake Forest, N.C.

Tyler Strafaci, Georgia Tech, Jr., Davie, Fla.

Justin Suh, Southern California, Sr., San Jose, Calif.

Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State, So., Agoura Hills, Calif.

Brandon Wu, Stanford, Sr., New York, N.Y.

Chun An Yu, Arizona State, Jr., Taoyuan, Taiwan