Gallimore Named Cornish Trophy Finalist

Mike Houck
By Mike Houck
Assistant A.D. / Strategic Communications

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma defensive lineman Neville Gallimore was named Friday as one of five finalists for the second annual Jon Cornish Trophy, awarded to the most outstanding Canadian player in NCAA football.

Gallimore, who is from St. Catharines, Ontario, was one of 128 NCAA football players from Canada during the 2018 season. The nominees for the Cornish Trophy were selected by a panel of former NCAA players with a connection to Canada, scouting staff from CFL teams and media who cover college football from a Canadian perspective. Evaluations have been solely based on players' performance during the 2018-19 NCAA season.

The 6-2, 330-pound Gallimore started in all 13 of his contests this past season as a junior, helping the Sooners to a 12-2 overall record, a fourth consecutive Big 12 title, a second straight College Football Playoff berth and a No. 4 final national ranking. Gallimore was an honorable mention All-Big 12 selection by league coaches and recorded career highs of 50 tackles, 5.0 tackles for loss, 3.0 sacks and two forced fumbles.

Joining Gallimore as finalists are Notre Dame wide receiver Chase Claypool, Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard, North Dakota running back Brady Oliveira and Ohio quarterback Nathan Rourke. Rourke won the inaugural Cornish Trophy following the 2017 season.

The trophy was named after former Calgary Stampeder running back Jon Cornish, a graduate of St. Thomas More Secondary in Burnaby, BC, who had a distinguished career at the University of Kansas. As a senior in 2006, Cornish led the Big 12 and ranked ninth nationally by rushing for a KU single-season record 1,457 yards. He also led the Big 12 in all-purpose yards that year with an average of 137.6 per contest.

With the Stampeders from 2007-2015, Cornish became the most productive Canadian-born running back in CFL history with 6,844 rushing yards, and won the league’s Most Outstanding Canadian Award three times (2012, 2013, 2014). He was the CFL Most Outstanding Player in 2013 and was named Canada’s athlete of the year in 2013, winning the Lou Marsh Trophy.

The Cornish Trophy will be presented to the winner at the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in March and will be placed on permanent display at the Hall.