Cummins Wins Sun Bowl All-America Classic

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

EL PASO, Texas – Quade Cummins finished 54 holes in a tie for first with Georgia's Spencer Ralston and used a playoff hole to take home the Lee Trevino Trophy on Tuesday at the 2018 Sun Bowl All-America Classic. The Weatherford, Okla. native finished with a 13-under-par 200 on the par 71, 6,889 yard El Paso Country Club course.

Cummins was in a tie for ninth entering the final round of play and shot a bogey free final round 62 to get into the playoff and then capped it off with a birdie on the first playoff hole to win.

“I got it going on the back nine and saw the scoreboard around hole No. 14, and that is when I knew I had a chance if I could keep it going,” Cummins said. “I had two par saves on 13 and 14. I hit it in some really bad spots and got them up-and-down to keep my round going and it added up to a 62.”

Cummins shot 17 birdies and an eagle over three rounds of play.  He tied the record for the best individual round with his final round of 62.  Cummins tied with Luke List (2006), Billy Horschel (2006), Webb Simpson (2007) and Gavin Green (2014). He broke the record for best final round, which was previously held by Jeremy Anderson (1998) and Sebastian Cappelen (2012).  

Final Results

1. Quade Cummins: 72-66-62—200 (-13)

T12. Blaine Hale: 68-70-70—208 (-5)

28. Brad Dalke: 78-74-76—228 (+15)


The Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic is one of the premier college golf tournaments in the country. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1974. Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Dustin Johnson and Rickie Fowler are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers. Sun Bowl All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 54 majors championships and have earned over $2.12 billion in career earnings.