Walker Named NCBWA District 6 Player of the Year

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN – Oklahoma baseball junior outfielder Steele Walker was named the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) District 6 Player of the Year, the organization announced Friday.

A semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award and a second-team All-American by Baseball America, Walker was recently drafted as the No. 46 overall pick by the Chicago White Sox in the 2018 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

Walker, a two-time All-Big 12 First Team pick, led the Sooners with a .352 batting average, 13 home runs and 53 RBI this season. His .352 average, 13 home runs and 53 RBI are tied for fifth in the Big 12.

The Prosper, Texas, native recorded 14 doubles, while posting a .441 on-base and .606 slugging percentage. Walker also led the Sooners with 76 hits, while posting a .991 fielding percentage in 54 starts in right field.

Walker recorded a team-high 17 multi-RBI games to go along with 26-multi hit games during the 2018 season.

The 2018 NCBWA District Players of the Year are District 1: OF Ryan Ward (Bryant); District 2: SS Greg Cullen (Niagara); District 3: SP Casey Mize (Auburn) and SP Brady Singer (Florida); District 4: C Joey Bart (Georgia Tech); District 5: 1B Bren Spillane (Illinois); District 6: OF Steele Walker (Oklahoma); District 7: 2B Kody Clemens (Texas); District 8: 1B Nic Ready (Air Force); District 9: RP Jack Little (Stanford) and 1B Andrew Vaughn (California).