Eleven Sooners Named to Academic All-Big 12 Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 15, 2018

NORMAN – Eleven members of the Oklahoma baseball team were named to the Academic All-Big 12 Team, the league office announced Tuesday. Eight players were named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team, while three were selected to the Academic All-Big 12 Second Team.

OU was represented on the first team by junior right-handed pitcher Connor Berry, junior outfielder Blake Brewster, senior infielder Thomas Hughes, junior right-hander Jake Irvin, senior infielder Kyle Mendenhall, right-handed pitcher Devon Perez, right-handed pitcher Kyle Tyler and junior outfielder Steele Walker.

Junior right-hander Ryan Madden, redshirt sophomore outfielder Kyler Murray and sophomore Nathan Wiles earned a selection to the Academic All-Big 12 team.

First-team members consist of student-athletes that have maintained a 3.20 or better grade-point average, while the second-team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

Berry, Irvin and Tyler were Academic All-Big 12 selections in 2017.

Oklahoma returns to action Thursday to open its final Big 12 series at Kansas. The three-game series begins at 6:05 p.m. CT from Lawrence.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.