Six Sooners Still Alive at Big 12 Championship

Mikey McCareins
By Mikey McCareins
Student Assistant

TULSA, Okla. – Oklahoma wrestling began the Big 12 Championship on Saturday at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Okla., with six Sooners moving on to wrestle in the consolation-round in Session III on Sunday. As a team, Oklahoma finished day one in seventh place out of 12 teams, totaling 45.5 points.

Three Sooners reached the semifinals in Davion Jeffries (149 pounds), Yoanse Mejias (174 pounds) and Christian Moody (125 pounds). 

Moody (No. 4) and Mejias (No. 2) earned byes through the preliminary round before seeing out victories over Connor Brown (SDSU, 3-1 decision) and Michael Billingsly (AFA, 11-7 decision) in the quarterfinals en route to the semifinals.

Davion Jeffries, seeded sixth at 149 pounds, defeated Northern Colorado's Jimmy Fate by a 10-0 major decision, next earning a win over 3-seed Khristian Olivas (Fresno St.) by an 8-4 decision to reach the semifinals.

Both Jeffries and Mejias fell in sudden death overtime in their semifinal matches. Moody was defeated in the semifinals at 125 pounds by No. 1 Nick Piccininni (OSU), 11-3. 

Senior Mike Longo went 3-1 on Saturday at 141 pounds, earning all three victories over higher seeds. Longo defeated Alec Opsal (Air Force) by a 9-7 decision to begin his day. He then bounced back from a loss with two wins by fall over Fresno State's Chris De Loza (6:55), and Christian Monserrat (WVU) in 5:15. Longo now has a team-leading six pins on the 2017-18 season.

Fellow senior Dawaylon Barnes, with a 2-1 record, also advanced to Sunday's action. Barnes used a 7-5 win by decision over Logan Peterson (SDSU) and a 10-2 win by major decision against Iowa State's Skylar St. John to join Longo in the consolation semifinals. 

Elsewhere, redshirt freshman Justin Thomas earned a win by technical fall over Raider Lofthouse in his first career Big 12 Championship-bout. Freshman Matt Waddell earned his second-career win by fall in an upset, defeating Utah Valley's No. 6 Gary Jantzer (2:20).

Senior Andrew Dixon rebounded from an opening round loss with two consecutive wins to secure a spot in the consolation semifinals at 197 pounds. 

The six Sooners still competing will be back in action for Sunday’s third session starting at noon. The finals are set to begin at 5 p.m. CT and will broadcast live on FOX Sports Oklahoma.


Christian Moody (125)

Christian Moody (OU) dec. Connor Brown (SDSU), 3-1
Nick Piccininni (OSU) maj. dec. Christian Moody (OU), 11-3

Jake Rubio

Durbin Lloren (UVU) dec. Jake Rubio (OU), 7-5
Isaac Giminez (AFA) dec. Jake Rubio (OU), 8-6

Mike Longo

Mike Longo (OU) dec. Alec Opsal (AFA), 9-7
Josh Alber (UNI) maj. dec. Mike Longo (OU), 12-4
Mike Longo (OU) fall Chris De Loza (FS), 6:55
Mike Longo (OU) fall Christian Monserrat (WVU), 5:15

Davion Jeffries

Davion Jeffries (OU) maj. dec. Jimmy Fate (UNCO), 10-0
Davion Jeffries (OU) dec. Khristian Olivas (FS), 8-4
Boo Lewallen (OSU) dec. Davion Jeffries, 10-4

Justin Thomas

Justin Thomas (OU) tech. fall Raider Lofthouse (UVU), 17-1
Luke Zilverberg (SDSU) dec. Justin Thomas (OU), 6-0
Tristan Moran (OSU) dec. Justin Thomas (OU), 6-4

Dawaylon Barnes

Dawaylon Barnes (OU) dec. Logan Peterson (SDSU), 7-5
Demetrius Romero (UVU) dec. Dawaylon Barnes (OU), 7-5
Dawaylon Barnes (OU) maj. dec. Skylar St. John (ISU), 10-2

Yoanse Mejias

Yoanse Mejias (OU) dec. Michael Billingsly (AFA), 11-7
David Kocer (SDSU) dec. Yoanse Mejias (OU), 10-8 (TB-2)

Matt Waddell

Chaz Polson (WYO) tech. fall Matt Waddell (OU), 17-1
Matt Waddell (OU) fall Gary Jantzer (UVU), 2:20
Dane Pestano (ISU) fall Matt Waddell (OU), 1:49

Andrew Dixon

Anthony McLaughlin (AFA) dec. Andrew Dixon (OU), 2-1
Andrew Dixon (OU) maj. dec. Jacob Seely (UNCO), 10-1
Andrew Dixon (OU) dec. Tanner Orndorff (UVU), 5-4

Connor Webb

Alex Macki (SDSU) dec. Connor Webb (OU), 6-2
Dan Stibral (NDSU) dec. Connor Webb (OU), 8-2