An Unforgettable Ride

Digital Team
By Digital Team
Oklahoma Athletics


Straight Big 12 Titles


College Football Playoff Appearances


Unforgettable Senior Class

While they outcome didn't turn out how they wanted, Saturday's appearance in the Rose Bowl Game in the College Football Playoff Semifinals marked the end of an unforgettable ride for Oklahoma's 18 seniors.

In alphabetical order, they are WR Jeff Badet, LB Emmanuel Beal, RB Najee Bissoon, FB Dimitri Flowers, LS Wesley Horky, DB Will Johnson, OL Ashton Julious, QB Baker Mayfield, WR Jeffery Mead, DE/LB Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, DB Steven Parker, DE Dalton Rodriguez, DT Matt Romar, WR Jordan Smallwood, CB Jordan Thomas, FB Jaxon Uhles, DE D.J. Ward and OL Erick Wren.

Thirteen of those players started at least one game in their final season for the Sooners and five started every one (Beal, Okoronkwo, Parker, Ward and Wren). Flowers and Mayfield started all but one game.

Over the last three seasons, the group led the Sooners to a 34-6 overall record, three straight Big 12 titles, three straight 11-win seasons (12 in 2017) and two College Football Playoff appearances.

Individually, they collected seven First-Team All-Big 12 honors in their careers and three earned All-America recognition (Mayfield - 2015, unanimous in 2017; Okoronkwo - 2017).

Mayfield will go down as one of the greatest and most beloved Sooners ever. In 2017, he became first player since the NCAA allowed the creation of athletics scholarships in 1950 to start his career as a walk-on and go on to win the Heisman Trophy. Mayfield earned three other major national awards in 2017 -- the Maxwell, O'Brien and Walter Camp Player of the Year -- in addition to being named the AP Player of the Year. In his career, he was also a two-time Sporting News Player of the Year (2015, '17) and two-time Burlsworth Trophy winner (2015, '16).

It was truly an unforgettable ride. Thank you seniors! You are part of the Oklahoma football family forever.

Boomer Sooner!