Mayfield Named Semifinalist for Two More Awards

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN — Already a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, Oklahoma senior quarterback Baker Mayfield was named one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award and one of 10 semifinalists for the Burlsworth Trophy on Tuesday.

The O'Brien Award is given to the nation's top quarterback, while the Burlsworth honors the top player who began his career as a walk-on. Mayfield has won the Burlsworth Trophy in each of the last two seasons.

Mayfield leads the FBS in completion percentage (.717), passing efficiency rating (201.6), yards per pass attempt (11.9) and yards per completion (16.5), while currently ranking second in total offense per game (378.6) and passing yards per game (358.4). He's completed 195-of-272 passes this year with 28 touchdowns to just five interceptions while throwing for 3,226 yards and rushing for 181 yards and another five scores.

Mayfield has thrown a TD pass in a school-record 35 consecutive games (every contest of his OU career), the second longest streak in Big 12 history and the fifth longest in FBS history. He's thrown at least two TD passes in a Big 12-record 22 straight contests (68 TDs to 13 interceptions during the stretch), which is believed to be the second-longest streak in FBS history.

This past weekend, the Austin, Texas, native set school records for passing yards (598), passing yards in a half (387) and total offense (589) while accounting for six touchdowns (five passing) in a 62-52 win at No. 11 Oklahoma State.

He was 24-for-36 through the air (66.7 percent) and averaged 16.6 yards per attempt and 24.9 yards per completion. His 598 yards were the most by an FBS player this season and second most over the past three seasons, while his 240.9 passing efficiency rating in the contest ranks as the second best in school history (minimum of 25 attempts).

The Davey O'Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Foundation's national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The Fan Vote at will be open from Nov. 7 until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 19. Fans are invited to cast their vote as often as once daily per email address.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O'Brien Foundation and the award's selection committee will release the names of the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 21. The 2017 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 7. The 41st Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 19, 2018, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans will be allowed to vote for Burlsworth Trophy winner beginning Tuesday at 2 p.m. CT. Fans are limited to one vote per day, and the voting for the semifinalist round will conclude on Nov. 12 at midnight CT. Voting can be accessed at and will begin with the top 10 semifinalists and continue as the selection committee announces the top three Burlsworth Trophy finalists on Nov. 14. Finalists will be honored and the winner of the 2017 Burlsworth Trophy announced Dec. 4, at a banquet in Springdale, Ark., hosted by the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation, in conjunction with the Springdale Rotary Club.

No. 5/7 Oklahoma (8-1, 5-1 Big 12) plays host to No. 8/9 TCU (8-1, 5-1) on Saturday in Norman. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT on FOX.