Sooners Claim Three Victories in Lawrence

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN – Competing in its second regatta of the fall season, the Oklahoma rowing team will return to Norman with three victories after a solid effort at the Jayhawk Jamboree Sunday afternoon in Lawrence, Kan. 

OU began the day on a strong note with a one-two finish in the women’s 4+.

The OU A boat took first with a time of 13:50.80, while the Sooners B boat was right behind with a time of 13:57.82. The Sooners grabbed another top-10 finish in the race when the C boat clocked a time of 14:13.65 to finish sixth.

Also competing in the 4+, the OU D boat finished 12th (14:29.82), the E boat took 14th (14:35.31) and the OU F boat posted a time of 14:53.88 to finish 16th in the field of 30. 

OU’s novice 8+ squad launched for the second race and finished fifth with a time of 14:48.64.

In the third race of the day, OU grabbed another first-place finish along with three top-10 finishes. The Sooner A boat took gold with a time of 12:25.89, while the OU B boat (12:54.01) and C boat (13:11.61) took fourth and seventh, respectively. The Sooners D boat clocked a time of 14:46.91 to finish 19th. 

For the second consecutive weekend the Sooners saved the best for last as OU earned its third race of the day in the tournament-style 8+ 300-meter sprints.

All three OU boats won their respective 300-meter heat to send the trio to the semifinal rounds. The Sooner A boat edged out its counterpart B boat to secure a spot in the finals, where the OU A boat surged passed Kansas State’s A boat with a time of 53.03 for the victory.

The Sooners will return to action Saturday when OU travels to Austin, Texas, for the Head of the Colorado regatta.


VARSITY LINEUPS  Varsity Four A C: Emily Coffman S: Katja Ruebling 3: Andreja Kekic 2: Kalie Heffernan B: Maxi Baumgart

Varsity Four B C: Peggy McLenna S: Sophie Salt 3: Katie Ognovich 2: Abby Lange B: Madeleine Lange

Varsity Four C C: Rubie Hays S: Mary Anderson 3: Elena Sloan 2: Nina Chism B: Andrea Batchev

Varsity Four D C: Katie Denney S: Shelby Johnson 3: Lauren Bishop 2: Melissa Patten B: Hannah Scholl

Varsity Four E C: Chloe Campbell S: Rachel Williams 3: Amy Pasque 2: Emily Taylor B: Hannah Hammond

Varsity Four F C: Sarah Fazal S: Cara Hoelzl 3: Louise Kuehster 2: Morgan Danker 2: Sydney Stone

Varsity Eight A C: Emily Coffman S: Maxi Baumgart 7: Katja Ruebling 6: Andreja Kekic 5: Kalie Heffernan 4: Baylee Barnes 3: Katie Ognovich 2: Abby Lange B: Madeleine Lange

Varsity Eight B C: Peggy McLennna S: Mary Anderson 7: Shelby Johnson 6: Sophie Salt 5: Elena Sloan 4: Nina Chism 3: Andrea Batchev 2: Lauren Bishop B: Melissa Patten

Varsity Eight C C: Rubie Hays S: Rachel Williams 7: Amy Pasque 6: Emily Taylor 5: Te’a Elliott-Fox 4: Cara Hoelzl 3: Louisa McNaughton 2: Hannah Hammond B: Hannah Scholl

Novice Eight D C: Chloe Campbell S: Riley McGinn 7: Amber Templin 6: Maya Martin 5: Kyla Scott 4: Alex Baldridge 3: Katherine Krueger 2: Katherine Nordhues B: Morgan Magee