Awards Continue to Roll in for Sooners

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
SEPTEMBER 12, 2017

NORMAN – One day after Baker Mayfield was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week and the OU team was recognized as the FWAA's Team of the Week, the Sooners continued to receive honors for their performance in OU's 31-16 win at then-No. 2 Ohio State last Saturday.

Tuesday, Mayfield was recognized as both the Davey O'Brien Award Quarterback of the Week and the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Player of the Week, while head coach Lincoln Riley was honored as the Dodd Trophy Coach of the Week.

After trailing 13-10 in the latter stages of the third quarter, the Sooners scored 21 straight points to take command in the battle of college football giants. OU outgained Ohio State 490 to 350 yards on the night and handed the Buckeyes their largest margin of defeat at home since 1999. It was also just OSU's third home loss in the six-year Urban Meyer era.

Oklahoma's 490 yards were the most surrendered by Ohio State in 34 games and the most in Columbus in five years. The Sooners' 386 passing yards, all from Baker Mayfield, were the most by an OSU opponent inside Ohio Stadium since 1985. The win was also just OU's second road victory over a top-two AP opponent in non-conference play. The other came in 1963 in Bud Wilkinson's last year as Sooners head coach.

Mayfield, a redshirt senior quarterback, completed 27 of 35 pass attempts, including each of his final 14, for 386 yards and three touchdowns without an interception. OU's 386 passing yards were the most allowed by Ohio State at home since 1985 and marked Mayfield's career high against an AP top-25 opponent.

Mayfield directed OU to a 490-yard night, the most yards surrendered by Ohio State in 34 games and most allowed in Columbus in five seasons. He led the Sooners into OSU territory on nine of the 10 possessions that began on OU's side of the field.

With Oklahoma's win, Mayfield improved to 10-0 at OU in true road games. In those contests, he has completed 218-of-307 passes (71 percent) for 3,004 yards and 35 touchdowns against five interceptions for an efficiency rating of 187.6.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is presented annually to the nation's outstanding Division I college offensive player who meets one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas; graduated from a Texas high school; or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.

The Dodd Trophy is named after legendary Georgia Tech coach Bobby Dodd, and was established in 1976 to honor the FBS football coach whose program represents three pillars of success: Scholarship, Leadership and Integrity.

The second-ranked Sooners return home to host Tulane on Saturday at 5 p.m. CT.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.