Six Sooners Named ITA All-Academic Team

Ann Marcelli
By Ann Marcelli
Communications Assistant

NORMAN – Six Sooners have been named to the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s 2017 All-Academic Team, the organization announced Tuesday.

Rising seniors Christie Brigante, Lily Miyazaki, Simran Sethi, Malene Stripp and Brooke Withrow made the list, as well as 2017 graduate Mimi Fotopoulos. Stripp, Miyazaki, Sethi and Fotopoulos were also Academic All-Big 12 award recipients.


With ITA honors, Miyazaki has now garnered four awards for her accomplishments in the classroom during the 2016-17 academic year. The senior was named a co-recipient of the Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award and a CoSIDA Academic All-District At-Large selection in addition to conference academic honors. 


As a team, Oklahoma women’s tennis has excelled in the classroom. The program was one of five OU teams with a perfect 2015-16 Academic Progress Rate, achieving a perfect mark for the third consecutive year.


The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program with a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above. In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.