OU Signees Continue to Earn Prestigous Accolades

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 09, 2017

NORMAN – Oklahoma women's basketball signees Ana Llanusa and Shaina Pellington continue to earn major accolades as they close out their high school careers.

Llanusa was recently named the 2017 Jim Thorpe Female Player of the Year in Basketball by the Oklahoma Coaches Association. She will be recognized on June 13 at a luncheon inside the Jim Thorpe and Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame. 

The 6-0 guard finished her career as the all-time leader in points scored in the Class 6A Tournament, helping Choctaw High School to the 2017 state championship. Llanusa averaged 19.5 points and 6.2 rebounds per game during her senior season.

She has already won the Oklahoman's Super 5 and Big All-City Player of the Year Awards. Llanusa was recently recognized as the 2017 Oklahoma Gatorade Player of the Year and a WBCA All-America honorable mention selection.

Pellington shined over the weekend in the Across Boarder Global Games, earning MVP honors by scoring 16 points for Team Canada while competing against some of the United States' top players in the 2017 signing class. 

The 5-7 guard, who is ranked the No. 1 international point guard by Prospect Nation, is expected to participate in the trials process for a roster spot on the Canadian senior national team or the U19 squad in preparation for the upcoming FIBA World Championships this summer.

For more information on Oklahoma women's basketball, follow the Sooners on Twitter (@OU_WBBall) or like Oklahoma Sooners Women's Basketball on Facebook.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.