Sooners Selected for NCAA Stanford Regional

Andie Beene
By Andie Beene
Assistant Director of Communications
MAY 04, 2017

NORMAN — The Oklahoma men's golf team was selected as the No. 3 seed at the NCAA Stanford Regional, the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee announced Thursday. The tournament will be played May 15-17 at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif.  

The Sooners, ranked No. 14 nationally by Golfweek/Sagarin, will make their seventh straight regional appearance under eighth-year OU head coach Ryan Hybl and 45th postseason appearance in program history.

“We're excited to be heading out West for NCAA Regionals, and Stanford is a great golf course,” Hybl said. “Our mission will be to go take care of business out in California.”

The 13-team, 54-hole tournament, hosted by Stanford, is one of six NCAA Regionals. It will include 18 holes each day and serve as a preliminary event for the NCAA Championships finals. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals, scheduled for May 26-31 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.

NCAA Regionals will also take place in Baton Rouge, La.; College Grove, Tenn.; West Lafayette, Ind.; Austin, Texas; and Sammamish, Wash. A total of 81 teams and 45 individuals were chosen for regionals.

In addition to OU, seven other Big 12 squads qualified for a regional, including Oklahoma State (No 1. Seed, Austin), Baylor (No. 2 seed, Stanford), Texas Tech (No. 2 seed, College Grove), Texas (No. 3 seed, Austin), Kansas (No. 7 seed, Austin), Iowa State (No. 9 seed, Austin) and TCU (No. 10 seed, College Grove).

Last year, the Sooners advanced to their sixth straight NCAA Championships with a second-place finish at the NCAA Stillwater Regional. At the national tournament in Eugene, Ore., OU advanced to match play quarterfinals.

NCAA Stanford Regional Field (Golfweek/Sagarin Ranking):
1. Stanford (8)
2. Baylor (6)
3. Oklahoma (14)
4. Georgia Tech (22)
5. Pepperdine (35)
6. North Carolina (31)
7. North Florida (40)
8. BYU (48)
9. Houston (56)
10. Ohio State (57)
11. UC Santa Barbara (68)
12. Sacramento State (104)
13. South Dakota State (196)

1. Collin Morikawa, California
2. Hayden Shieh, Santa Clara
3. David Kim, UC Irvine
4. Justin Doeden, Minnesota
5. Andres Gonzalez, Long Beach State
6. Felix Mory, Cal State Northridge
7. Fidel Concepcion, Southern Utah
8. Grant Booth, Nevada
9. Brian Humphreys, Boise State
10. Mike Graboyes, Cornell



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.