Lehrmann, Nichols Win Individual NCAA Titles

Chelsey Kraft
By Chelsey Kraft
Assistant Director of Communications
2017 NCAA Champions
Event Name School Score
Vault Kennedi Edney LSU 9.9875
Bars Nicole Lehrmann Oklahoma 9.95
  Maggie Nichols Oklahoma 9.95
  Katie Bailey Alabama 9.95
  Sarah Finnegan LSU 9.95
  Alex McMurtry Florida 9.95
  Kyla Ross UCLA 9.95
Beam Kyla Ross UCLA 9.9625
Floor Ashleigh Gnat LSU 9.9625
  MyKayla Skinner Utah 9.9625

ST. LOUIS A pair of Oklahoma Sooners are 2017 NCAA Individual Champions as sophomore Nicole Lehrmann and freshman Maggie Nichols claimed a share of the bar title with scores of 9.95.

The two Sooners tied with Katie Bailey (Alabama), Sarah Finnegan (LSU), Alex McMurtry (Florida) and Kyla Ross (UCLA) for the title. Individual champs were determined by combining scores from the two semifinal sessions.

Lehrmann and Nichols are the second and third individual bars champs in program history, joining Kelly Garrison (1988). The Sooners have now won seven individual titles all-time, with Kelly Garrison (all-around in 1987; all-around, bars and beam in 1988) and Taylor Spears (beam in 2014) claiming previous honors.

Up next, Oklahoma will vie for its second straight and third overall NCAA title when it competes in Saturday's Super Six team finals. The meet will begin at 8 p.m. CT and air live on ESPNU, with individual streams of each event available on WatchESPN.com.