Sooners' Season Comes to an End in St. Louis

Micah Thompson
By Micah Thompson
Communications Assistant
MARCH 17, 2017

ST. LOUIS – The Sooners’ season came to an end on Saturday after all Oklahoma wrestlers were eliminated at the 2017 NCAA Championships, held inside Scottrade Center.

Junior Mike Longo (141 pounds), junior Yoanse Mejias (165 pounds), redshirt senior Brad Johnson (197 pounds) and redshirt senior Ross Larson (285 pounds) were all eliminated in the tournament’s third session. Redshirt freshman Christian Moody (125 pounds), sophomore Davion Jeffries (149 pounds), redshirt senior Clark Glass (157 pounds) and redshirt senior Matt Reed (174 pounds) were eliminated in Thursday’s second session.

In his first contest of the day, Yoanse Mejias pinned No. 8 Dylan Cottrell of West Virginia in 5:30. Cottrell escaped to start the second period to lead 1-0 at the time of the fall. The junior matched up with No. 16 Nicholas Wanzek of Minnesota in his second bout of the day, losing by 8-2 decision.

Brad Johnson downed American’s Jeric Kasunic by 3-2 decision in his opening bout on Friday. The redshirt senior struck first with a quick takedown to lead 2-0 after one. Kasunic secured a 2-point nearfall before Johnson escaped in the second to set the score at 3-2. Johnson dropped a 2-0 decision to No. 7 Aaron Studebaker in the second consolation round.

Redshirt senior Ross Larson recorded a 10-3 major decision over No. 16 Garrett Ryan of Columbia at heavyweight in this first bout. Ryan tallied the first takedown, but Larson countered with his own and never looked back, tacking on another takedown, a 2-point nearfall, two stall points and the riding-time point for the win. Larson lost to No. 9 Denzel Dejournette of Appalachian State, 2-0, in his second match of the session.

The tournament marks the end of the careers of Glass, Reed, Johnson and Larson. The Sooners end the 2016-17 season with an 11-6 record.

Team standings are not finalized until after Saturday’s sixth session of the championships.


Christian Moody (125 pounds)

No. 6 Ethan Lizak (MINN) dec. Christian Moody (OU), 10-8
Jose Rodriguez (OHST) fall Christian Moody (OU), 2:51

Mike Longo (141 pounds)

No. 10 Bryce Meredith (WYO) maj. dec. Mike Longo (OU), 12-4
Mike Longo (OU) tech. fall No. 7 Joseph Ward (UNC), 16-1 (5:09)
No. 9 Colton McCrystal (NEB) maj dec. Mike Longo (OU), 12-4

No. 11 Davion Jeffries (149 pounds)

Joey Delgado (ORST) dec. No. 11 Davion Jeffries (OU), 6-5
Coleman Hammond (CSUB) dec. Davion Jeffries (OU), 10-6 

No. 12 Clark Glass (157 pounds)

May Bethea (PENN) dec. Clark Glass (OU), 3-2
Alex Griffin (Purdue) maj. dec. Clark Glass (OU), 9-1

Yoanse Mejias (165 pounds)

No. 10 Te’Shan Campbell (PITT) dec. Yoanse Mejias (OU), 4-0
Yoanse Mejias (OU) dec. Cody Burcher (OHST), 2-1
Yoanse Mejias (OU) fall No. 8 Dylan Cottrell (WVU), 5:30
No. 16 Nicholas Wanzek (MINN) dec. Yoanse Mejias (OU), 9-2 

Matt Reed (174 pounds)

Jake Residori (SIUE) dec. Matt Reed (OU), 7-6
David Kocer (SDSU) maj. dec. Matt Reed (OU), 8-0

Brad Johnson (197 pounds)

Brad Johnson dec. No. 15 Ricky Robertson (WISC) 4-2
No. 2 Brett Pfarr (MINN) dec. Brad Johnson (OU), 6-1
Brad Johnson (OU) dec. Jeric Kasunic (AMER), 3-2
No. 7 Aaron Studebaker (NEB) dec. Brad Johnson (OU), 2-0

Ross Larson (285 pounds)

No. 15 Ryan Solomon (PITT) dec. Ross Larson (OU), 4-1
Ross Larson (OU) fall Ray O’Donnell (PRIN)
Ross Larson (OU) dec. No. 16 Garrett Ryan (COL), 10-3
No. 9 Denzel Dejournette (APP) dec. Ross Larson (OU), 2-0



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.