Sooners Place Second at Big 12 Championship

Micah Thompson
By Micah Thompson
Communications Assistant
MARCH 05, 2017

TULSA, Okla. – The Oklahoma wrestling team secured a second-place finish at the 2017 Big 12 Championship, held inside the BOK Center.  

Seven Sooners punched their ticket to the NCAA Championships in Christian Moody (125 pounds), Mike Longo (141 pounds), Davion Jeffries (149 pounds), Clark Glass (157 pounds), Matt Reed (174 pounds), Brad Johnson (197 pounds) and Ross Larson (285 pounds). 

Oklahoma finished the tournament with 93.5 team points. Oklahoma State topped the leaderboard with 176.5 points and South Dakota State placed third with 90.5.

At 149 pounds, Davion Jeffries took second place, recording a 2-1 mark at the championship. In the finals, Jeffries dropped a 7-4 decision to Anthony Collica of Oklahoma State. Collica secured two takedowns in the opening period and lead 4-1 entering the second frame. Jeffries started the second on top and secured two nearfall points but trailed 5-3. Jeffries escaped to start the third, but Collica added a takedown at the buzzer to seal his win.

Redshirt senior Reed, who began the tournament as the No. 5 seed, finished in second place after dropping an 8-4 decision to Oklahoma State’s Kyle Crutchmer in the 174-pound finals. The Cowboy held a 3-1 lead after the first period, but Reed held on and trailed 5-3 entering the final frame. Crutchmer escaped and tacked on a takedown in the third for the win.

The Sooners’ came out firing on all cylinders in the morning session as the five wrestlers competing went nine-for-10 and all secured spots in the national tournament. Longo, Glass, Johnson and Larson each took third place in their division while Moody placed fourth.

Moody downed SDSU’s Ben Gillette by 8-5 decision in the 125-pound consolation semifinals before dropping the third-place match, 4-3, to Drew Templeman of Wyoming. Moody secured the final qualifying spot at 125 pounds and will make his first appearance at the national tournament.

At 141 pounds, Longo secured a 3-1 record at the Big 12 Championship and a 2-0 mark on Sunday. The junior registered an 11-9 decision in SV-1 over Iowa State’s John Meeks and punched his NCAA ticket with a win by fall in 4:50 over Northern Colorado’s Timmy Box. Longo will appear in the national tournament for the third consecutive season and the first time as a Sooner.

Redshirt senior Glass defeated Wyoming’s Archie Colgan in the consolation semifinals, 2-0, and downed Alex Mossing of Air Force by 7-0 decision to own third place and lock in his spot in the 157-bracket in St. Louis.

Johnson took third place at 197 pounds, beating Cordell Eaton of North Dakota State, 8-3, in his first bout of session three and downing SDSU’s Nate Rotert by 4-0 decision. The win over Rotert, ranked No. 8 by Intermat, avenges an 11-2 major decision loss to him earlier this season in Oklahoma’s dual at South Dakota State. Johnson will be appearing in the NCAA tournament for the first time in his career.

Redshirt senior heavyweight Larson secured third place and his fourth consecutive spot in the national tournament with a win by fall in 2:48 over North Dakota State’s Ben Tynan, marking his 54th career pin and the 12th this season. Larson downed Iowa State’s Quean Smith, 7-2, in his consolation semifinal bout earlier in the session.

The 49 at-large selections for the NCAA Championships will be announced on Tuesday, March 7. The national tournament is set for March 16-18 in St. Louis, Mo., at the Scottrade Center. 


Christian Moody

Christian Moody (OU) dec. Kyle Larson (ISU), 4-3
Josh Rodriguez (NDSU) fall Christian Moody (OU), 2:18
Christian Moody (OU) dec. Ben Gillette (SDSU), 8-5
Drew Templeman (WYO) dec. Christian Moody (OU), 4-3

Jacob Rubio

Jacob Rubio (OU) dec. Jarod Maynes (UVU), 3-1
Seth Gross (SDSU) fall Jacob Rubio (OU), 3:41
Jacob Rubio (OU) dec. Ronnie Stevens (WYO), 3-2
Rico Montoya (UNC) dec. Jacob Rubio (OU), 5-2

Mike Longo

Mike Longo (OU) dec. Trevor Willson (UVU), 7-4
Bryce Meredith (WYO) dec. Mike Longo (OU), 13-7
Mike Longo (OU) dec. John Meeks (ISU), 11-9 (SV-1)
Mike Longo (OU) fall Timmy Box (UNC), 4:50

Davion Jeffries

Davion Jeffries (OU) dec. Jerry McGinty (AF), 7-6
Davion Jeffries (OU) fall Alex Kocer (SDSU), 4:43
Anthony Collica (OSU) dec. Davion Jeffries (OU), 7-4

Clark Glass

Colston Diblasi (ISU) dec. Clark Glass (OU), 1-0
Clark Glass (OU) dec. Logan Peterson (SDSU), 8-3
Clark Glass (OU) dec. Archie Colgan (WYO), 2-0
Clark Glass (OU) dec. Alex Mossing (AF), 7-0

Yoanse Mejias

Luke Zilverberg (SDSU) dec. Yoanse Mejias (OU), 4-0
Keilan Torres (UNC) dec. Yoanse Mejias (OU), 3-1 (SV-1)

Matt Reed

Matt Reed (OU) dec. Kimball Bastian (UVU), 6-4
Matt Reed (OU) dec. David Kocer (SDSU), 11-5
Kyle Crutchmer (OSU) dec. Matt Reed (OU), 8-4

Andrew Dixon

Andrew Dixon (OU) dec. Zen Ikehara (AF), 3-1 (SV-1)
Nolan Boyd (OSU) maj. dec. Andrew Dixon (OU), 12-1
Andrew Dixon (OU) tech. fall Able Gomez (Utah Valley), 16-0
Tyler McNutt (NDSU) tech. fall Andrew Dixon (OU), 16-1

Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson (OU) dec. Anthony McLaughlin (Air Force), 4-0
Jacob Smith (WVU) dec. Brad Johnson (OU), 4-1
Brad Johnson (OU) dec. Cordell Eaton (NDSU), 8-3
Brad Johnson (OU) dec. Nate Rotert (SDSU), 4-0

Ross Larson

Ross Larson (OU) tech. fall Alex Macki (SDSU), 16-0 (2:42)
Dustin Dennison (UVU) dec. Ross Larson (OU), 6-0
Ross Larson (OU) dec. Quean Smith (ISU), 7-2
Ross Larson (OU) fall Ben Tynan (NDSU), 2:48



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.