Three Sooners Place at Midlands Championships

Micah Thompson
By Micah Thompson
Communications Assistant
DECEMBER 30, 2016

EVANSTON, Ill. – Three Sooners finished the 54th Midlands Championships on the podium after Friday’s fourth and final session. The event was held inside Welsh-Ryan Arena on the campus of Northwestern University.

Thirteen Sooners competed in the event as Oklahoma finished in 10th place, registering 58.5 team points.

Davion Jeffries was the top finisher for the Sooners, placing fourth in the 149-pound bracket. The sophomore dropped the bout to Northwestern’s Ryan Deakin by 6-2 decision. Jeffries recorded a technical fall over No. 7-seed Kenny Theobald in Friday’s opening contest before registering a win by fall over No. 14 Anthony Giraldo of Rutgers in 51 seconds to enter the third-place bout. He finished the tournament with a 6-2 record. 

Redshirt senior Clark Glass finished in seventh place, registering a takedown in sudden victory one for the 6-4 decision over Andrew Fogarty of NDSU in the seventh-place match. Glass downed NC State’s Brian Hamann in the blood round by 3-2 decision before dropping a 9-4 decision to Alex Marinelli of Iowa in his second bout of the third session. The 165 pounder went 6-2 in the tournament, including a technical fall and a major decision win in his first two bouts of the event, respectively.

After going 2-1 in the opening day, redshirt freshman Christian Moody came out in his opening bout of session three with a win by fall over Buffalo’s Justin Patrick in 3:49 to advance to the second consolation round of the session. No 8-seed Lucas Malmberg recorded a win by fall in 6:28 over Moody to send him to the seventh place match where he dropped a 12-9 decision to Johnny Jimenez of Wisconsin to take eighth place.

Junior 157-pounder DaWaylon Barnes was eliminated in the blood round, dropping a 4-2 decision to Rutgers’ John Van Brill, the No. 13 seed. Barnes finished the tournament with a 3-2 record, including a win by fall in Thursday’s opening bout.

At heavyweight, Ross Larson lost to Eastern Michigan’s Gage Hutchison by way of fall in 40 seconds. Larson ended the event with a 2-2 mark and posted two bonus-point wins.

The Sooners return to the mat on Sunday, Jan. 8 at 2 p.m. for a matchup with No. 5 Missouri inside McCasland Field House in Norman. Tickets for the dual are available online at or by calling the OU Athletics Ticket Office at (405) 325-2424 or toll-free at (800) 456-GoOU.



Christian Moody (125)

Christian Moody (OU) dec. Hayden Lee (Ohio),11-4
Christian Moody (OU) dec. No. 4 Ben Thornton (Purdue), 6-5
No. 5 Joshua Terao (American) dec. Christian Moody (OU), 11-4
Christian Moody (OU) fall Justin Patrick (Buffalo), 3:49
No. 8 Lucas Malmberg (Messiah) fall Christian Moody (OU), 6:28
No. 11 Johnny Jimenez (Wisconsin) dec. Christian Moody (OU), 12-9

Dalton Duffield (125)

Brandon Paetzell (Rutgers) fall Dalton Duffield (OU), 3:54
Dalton Duffield (OU) dec. Michael Russo (Brown), 9-3
Zac Denny (UW-Whitewater) dec. Dalton Duffield (OU), 3-1 (SV2)

Trae Blackwell (133)

No. 12 Jamal Morris (NC State) dec. Trae Blackwell (OU), 9-2
Dylan Duncan (Illinois) dec. Trae Blackwell (OU), 5-0 

No. 10 Mike Longo (141)

Mike Longo dec. Kevin Budock, 2-0
No. 7 Christopher Carton (Iowa) dec. Mike Longo (OU), 14-10
No. 4 Colton McCrystal (Nebraska) fall Mike Longo (OU), :54

Noah Teaney (141)

Noah Teaney fall Jacob Macalolooy (Columbia), :59
No. 1 Matthew Kolodzik (Princeton) fall Noah Teaney (OU), 2:31
Cole Weaver (Indiana) fall Noah Teaney (OU), 1:14

No. 16 Davion Jeffries (149)

Davion Jeffries fall Blayne Briceno (Iowa State), 3:55
Davion Jeffries TF Adam Whitesell (Maryland), 18-0
No. 1 Brandon Sorenson (Iowa) fall Davion Jeffries (OU), 6:18
Davion Jeffries (OU) fall Luke Blanton (Indiana), :29
Davion Jeffries (OU) dec.  Mitch Friedman (NDSU), Dec. 6-5
Davion Jeffries (OU) TF No. 7 Kenny Theobald (Rutgers), 16-0
Davion Jeffries (OU) fall No. 14 Anthony Giraldo (Rutgers), :51
Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) dec. Davion Jeffries (OU), 6-2

No. 6 DaWaylon Barnes (157)

DaWaylon Barnes (OU) fall Zeth Dean (Harvard), 2:48
TJ Ruschell (Wisconsin) dec. DaWaylon Barnes (OU), 5-3 (SV1)
DaWaylon Barnes (OU) dec. Jake Wentzel (Pitt), 9-6
DaWaylon Barnes (OU) dec. Jake Danishek (Indiana), 3-1 (SV1)
No. 13 John Van Brill (Rutgers) dec. DaWaylon Barnes (OU), 4-2

No. 3 Clark Glass (165)

Clark Glass (OU) TF Grayson Davis (Ohio), 16-0
Clark Glass (OU) maj. dec. Mike Sepke (Chicago), 14-0
Kaleb Young (Iowa) dec. Clark Glass (OU), 3-2
Clark Glass (OU) dec. Dylan Lydy (Purdue), 4-0
Clark Glass (OU) dec. No. 6 Johnny Sebastian (Northwestern), 5-2
Clark Glass (OU) dec. Brian Hamann (NC State), 3-2
No. 9 Alex Marinelli (Iowa) dec. Clark Glass (OU), 9-4
Clark Glass (OU) dec. No. 8 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU), 6-4 (SV-1) 

Hayden Hansen (174)

Idris White (Maryland) maj. dec. Hayden Hansen (OU), 12-4
Dylan Urbach (NDSU) dec. Hayden Hansen (OU), 3-2

Andrew Dixon (184)

Pete Renda (NC State) fall Andrew Dixon (OU), 2:20
Andrew Dixon (OU) maj. dec. Donovan McAfree (Pitt), 8-0
Jordan Ellingwood (Central Mich.) dec. Andrew Dixon (OU), 6-1

No. 8 Brad Johnson (197)

Mason Reinhardt (Wisconsin) maj. dec. Brad Johnson (OU), 18-7
Brad Johnson (OU) dec. John Rizzo (Pitt), 7-2
Blake Rypel (Indiana) dec. Brad Johnson (OU), 4-3

Lance Dixon (197)

Lance Dixon (OU) dec. Kevin Mulligan (Rutgers), 9-2
No. 6 Shawn Scott (NIU) dec. Lance Dixon (OU), 4-3 (SV1)
Regis Durbin (Northwestern) dec. Lance Dixon (OU), 3-2

No. 6 Ross Larson (HWT)

Ross Larson fall Antonio Pelusi (Franklin & Marshall), 1:50
Ross Larson maj. dec. Mauro Correnti (Rider), 13-5
No. 3 Sam Stoll (Iowa) dec. Ross Larson (OU), 6-2
Gage Hutchison (Eastern Michigan) fall Ross Larson (OU), :40



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.