Four Taken for Individual Championships

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 30, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. -- Four Oklahoma Sooners were selected to the field of 64 for the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Singles Championships and one Sooner duo made the 32-team doubles bracket, the NCAA announced Wednesday.

Oklahoma senior Guillermo Alcorta, sophomore Axel Alvarez, freshman Andrew Harris and junior Dane Webb were all chosen by the NCAA Men’s Tennis Subcommittee to participate in the tournament.

Additionally, Harris and Webb were an at-large selection for the doubles championship field of 32.

Alcorta (19-5 in dual match competition) was the Big 12 Conference’s automatic qualifier and was seeded No. 5 overall. Alvarez (18-4), the No. 7 seed, Harris (18-4) and Webb (21-2) were at-large selections.

Alcorta, Harris and Webb were all Big 12 Conference position champions in 2014.

The singles and doubles tournaments will be conducted May 21-26 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, following the NCAA Team Championships held at the same site May 15-20. The Sooners (23-3) are the No. 2 overall seed for the team competition.

All matches of the NCAA Singles Championship are played to best-of-three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six-games-all will be used for all matches.

Oklahoma hosts NCAA Championship First and Second Rounds May 10-11 at the Headington Family Tennis Center in Norman.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.