Five Sooners Named to NFF Honor Society
April 29, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. – Five former members of the Oklahoma football team were honored by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) as selections to the 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, comprised of college football players who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

Defensive back Kass Everett, tight end Brannon Green, center Gabe Ikard, fullback Trey Millard and long snapper Austin Woods were each honored.

The five selections were the most of any Big 12 program and tied for fourth-most among FBS schools with Nebraska, Northwestern, Minnesota and Rutgers. Army had the most selections among FBS institutions with 12 overall.

"We continue to raise the bar each year for the number of student-athletes who qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence."

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility, achieving a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout entire course of undergraduate study and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

This past season Ikard was named one of 16 winners of the NFF Scholar-Athlete Award and an accompanying post-graduate scholarship. Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program.

MidFirst Bank
MidFirst Bank
MidFirst Bank
Cherokee Challenge