Sooners Receive Big 12 Honors
April 22, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. -- Three Sooners earned All-Big 12 academic awards while six were named position champions, the conference announced Tuesday.

For the second consecutive year, junior Dane Webb landed himself on the first team. Webb, an administrative leadership major, has maintained at least a 3.20 GPA, all while helping the Sooners win their third straight Big 12 title.

Senior Peerakit Siributwong, a human relations major, has been named a first team honoree for a third time.

Sophomore Axel Alvarez received second-team honors. This is the first time Alvarez, a business major, has been named to an Academic All-Big 12 team.  

The Big 12 also announced its 2014 position champions Tuesday.

Senior Guillermo Alcorta went 5-0 at the No. 2 position throughout conference play, earning him the No. 2 singles position title. Webb took first at the No. 3 spot with a 4-0 record and freshman Andrew Harris claimed his first title as a Sooner as the No. 4 singles winner.

A 5-0 doubles record earned Sooner tandem Alcorta and Alvarez the No. 2 doubles title. Junior Nick Papac and Siributwong earned second place at No. 3 doubles.

OU heads to Fort Worth, Texas, April 24-27 for the Big 12 Championships hosted by TCU.  


OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC