Wrestling Celebrates Season at Banquet

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 13, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. -- The University of Oklahoma wrestling team celebrated the 2013-14 season Sunday afternoon with its annual postseason banquet, held inside the Stadium Suites in Gaylord Family - Oklahoma Memorial Stadium.

The Oklahoma coaching staff and wrestlers were joined by friends and family in celebration of the past year's accomplishments with dinner and season highlights. Several Sooners went home with awards handed out by head coach Mark Cody and assistant coaches Michael Lightner and Jared Frayer.

Andrew Howe was recognized as the Most Outstanding Wrestler following a season in which he went 28-2 and grabbed an NCAA runner-up finish at 174 pounds. The senior, who is a four-time All-American, had 21 wins with bonus points this season.

Along with Howe, redshirt sophomore Cody Brewer and redshirt senior Kendric Maple were recognized for receiving All-America status at this year's NCAAs. Brewer, a two-time All-American, concluded this year with a 23-10 record, while Maple capped his Sooner career with his third-straight All-America recognition and a 25-7 record for the season.

The Most Outstanding Freshman honor went to Ross Larson, who finished the season 23-12, with 14 of those wins coming via pins. Larson was selected as an at-large bid for his first NCAA Championships appearance at heavyweight.

Two Sooners - Justin DeAngelis and Clark Glass - were honored with the Most Improved Award. DeAngelis, who finished his redshirt junior campagin with an 18-7 record, qualified for his first NCAA Championships at 157 pounds with a runner-up showing in the Big 12 Championship. Glass, a redshirt freshman, tallied a 19-12 record at 165 pounds.

The recipient of the Jimmy White Award, given to a wrestler on the basis of athletic ability, team contribution, individual achievement and team spirit, was Derek Geiges. Geiges, who normally competes at 157 pounds, stepped into the Sooner lineup at 174 pounds multiple times this season as the team was struggled with injuries.

Additionally, redshirt junior Zach Merrill received the Warrior Award for his hard work and readiness to step up to the occassion whenever his team needed him to do so.

During his redshirt campaign, Matt Reed compiled a 13-1 record, with his only loss coming by decision in the first match of the season, earning him the Redshirt of the Year Award.

Two individuals were honored with the 11th Man Award, including freshman Sean Williams and Dr. Robert Hines, better known as "Doc Hines," who oversees all medical needs and surgeries for the squad. Williams received the award after entering the lineup at 125 pounds following an injury to redshirt senior Jarrod Patterson.

Oklahoma's seniors - Patterson, Nick Lester, Maple, Travis Rutt, Howe, Geiges and Chase Gordon - were celebrated for their contributions and committment to the OU wrestling program throughout their careers in the Crimson and Cream. OU's letterwinners were also recognized during the event.

The Sooners recorded an 11-5 record in 2013-14, went 2-1 in Big 12 competition and concluded the season with a 10th-place finish at the NCAA Championships in Oklahoma City in Cody's third year at the helm of the program.

Most Outstanding Wrestler:
Andrew Howe
Most Outstanding Freshman: Ross Larson
Most Improved: Justin DeAngelis and Clark Glass
Redshirt of the Year Award: Matt Reed
Jimmy White Award: Derek Geiges
Warrior Award: Zach Merrill
11th Man Award: Sean Williams and Doc Hines
All-American Awards: Cody Brewer, Kendric Maple and Andrew Howe

First Award Jacket: Danny Chaid, Stone Drulman, Clark Glass, Tim Hamilton, Peter Huang, Alec Iacovelli, Ross Larson, Zach Merrill, Sean Williams
Second Award Watch: Cody Brewer, Dalton Dennis, Dryden Dennis, Josh Durham
Third Award Blanket: Justin DeAngelis
Senior Plaque: Chase Gordon, Derek Geiges, Nick Lester, Travis Rutt, Jarrod Patterson, Andrew Howe, Kendric Maple



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.