Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 06, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. – The National Football Foundation announced Thursday that University of Oklahoma alums Brian Bosworth and Randy Hughes are among the 75 players listed on the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame ballot. The announcement of the Class of 2014 will be made in May and inductions will take place at the 57th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 9 in New York City.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. 

Bosworth was a two-time consensus First Team All-America selection as a linebacker for the Sooners in 1985 and 1986, claiming the Butkus Award each of those seasons. He helped lead Oklahoma to three straight Orange Bowl appearances and the 1985 national championship. He was also tabbed as a GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American in 1986. He led Oklahoma in tackles for three straight seasons from 1984-86.

Hughes served as a defensive back on Oklahoma’s 1974 national championship team and was part of squads that claimed three Big Eight titles. An All-America selection in 1974, Hughes was also named a National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete and a GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American that season. He finished his career fourth in OU history with 14 interceptions.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.