Diamond Dinner Set for February 7

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
JANUARY 07, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. – The Oklahoma baseball team’s 11th Annual Diamond Dinner is scheduled for Friday, February 7 at 7:00 pm. The banquet will take place at the Chesapeake Energy East Side Stadium Club at Memorial Stadium. First-year head coach Pete Hughes announced that alumni Bobby Witt and Garrett Richards will be honored at the event.

“The Diamond Dinner is a great way to introduce the team and staff to the community with opening day right around the corner,” said Hughes. “To do so with two MLB First Round picks to honor is a testament to the success of our program.”

The event is open to the public and tickets will be sold at $30 per person. All attendees must register beforehand. Walk-ups will not be permitted. To register, contact the OU baseball office at 405-325-8354.

Witt starred at Oklahoma from 1984-85. Along with Jonathan Gray, he is the highest drafted player in program history, being selected third overall by the Texas Rangers in 1985. Over a 16-year career with seven teams, Witt posted 142 wins in the Major Leagues and 1,955 strikeouts. He started 397 of his 430 career games and was a 10-game winner in seven seasons, including a 17-win campaign in 1990.

Richards wore the Crimson & Cream from 2007-09 and was selected 42nd overall in the first round of the 2009 draft by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. After making his big league debut in 2011 for the Angels, Richards has appeared in 84 games, starting 29 and winning 11. He has struck out 157 batters through 230 inning of work.

“Bobby Witt is one of the most accomplished OU baseball players at the professional level,” stated Hughes. “Garrett Richards continues to prove his worth as a Major League pitcher with the Angels and we are excited to have them both back home in Norman.”

The honorees, current Oklahoma baseball student-athletes and alumni will be available for an autograph session during the event. Attendees will be the first to see a video preview of the 2014 Sooner season.

Past Diamond Dinner Honrees
2013: Javier Flores
2012: Ryan Rohlinger
2011: Daniel McCutchen
2010: Greg Norton
2009: Darron Cox
2008: Bob Stephenson, Reggie Willits
2007: Eddie Fisher, Geoff Geary, L. Dale Mitchell
2006: Jeff Bajenaru, Rich Hills
2005: Kyle Denney, Damon Minor, Ryan Minor
2004: Mark Redman, Russ Ortiz



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.