Former Sooners in Final Round of Qualifying

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
DECEMBER 11, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. – Two former University of Oklahoma golfers will compete in the final stage of the Tour Qualifying School Thursday, Dec. 12 through Tuesday, Dec. 17 in La Quinta, Calif., with an opportunity to earn full exempt status on the tour.

Abraham Ancer, who competed at OU from 2010-13, and Todd Hamilton (1985-87), are both scheduled to participate in the final qualifying stage. Players who advance to the final stage are guaranteed at least conditional status on the Tour, which is the pathway to the PGA Tour. The top 50 finishers receive full exempt status on the Tour.

“Abe will go down as one of the best players of all time here at OU, and it is no surprise to me that he is heading to the third stage of Q-school, and I would expect him to have a great chance in California,” OU head coach Ryan Hybl said. “Todd Hamilton will be there as well, and I hope they both bring home full status on the Tour.”

Will Kropp, who competed at OU until May 2013 along with Ancer, made it to the second round of qualifying but did not advance to the final stage.

Additionally, Carlos Del Moral, who was at OU in 2004, secured his spot on the European Tour after winning the final stage with a 5-under 67. Del Moral, a native of Spain, has now qualified from the last stage four times in the past six years.

“We are always so proud of our former players that represent OU out on tour, and my hope is that we can add to that legacy by the players we continue to have on our team,” Hybl said.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.